Găsiți următorul dvs. carte audio preferat

Deveniți un membru astăzi și ascultați gratuit pentru 30 zile
The Disasters

The Disasters

Scris de M. K. England

Povestit de James Fouhey


The Disasters

Scris de M. K. England

Povestit de James Fouhey

evaluări:
4/5 (87 evaluări)
Lungime:
8 hours
Lansat:
Dec 18, 2018
ISBN:
9780062937902
Format:
Carte audio

Descriere

The Breakfast Club meets Guardians of the Galaxy in this YA sci-fi adventure by debut author M. K. England.

Hotshot pilot Nax Hall has a history of making poor life choices. So it's not exactly a surprise when he's kicked out of the elite Ellis Station Academy in less than twenty-four hours. But Nax's one-way trip back to Earth is cut short when a terrorist group attacks the Academy.

Nax and three other washouts escape—barely—but they're also the sole witnesses to the biggest crime in the history of space colonization. And the perfect scapegoats.

On the run, Nax and his fellow failures plan to pull off a dangerous heist to spread the truth. Because they may not be "Academy material," and they may not even get along, but they're the only ones left to step up and fight.

Full of high-stakes action, subversive humor, and underdogs becoming heroes, this YA sci-fi adventure is perfect for fans of Illuminae, Heart of Iron, or the cult classic TV show Firefly and is also a riveting thrill ride that anyone-not just space nerds-can enjoy.

Lansat:
Dec 18, 2018
ISBN:
9780062937902
Format:
Carte audio


Despre autor

M.K. England is an author and librarian who grew up on the Space Coast of Florida and now calls small-town rural Virginia home. When they're not writing or librarianing, M. K. can be found drowning in fandom, rolling dice at the Dungeons & Dragons table, digging in the garden, or feeding their video game addiction. They love Star Wars with a desperate, heedless passion. It’s best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in their presence. You’ll regret it. They are also the author of The Disasters. Visit them at www.mkengland.com.

Legat de The Disasters

Cărți audio conex
Articole conexe

Recenzii

Ce părere au oamenii despre The Disasters

3.9
87 evaluări / 9 Recenzii
Ce părere aveți?
Evaluare: 0 din 5 stele

Recenziile cititorilor

  • (5/5)
    This was one of the best Syfy books I have ever read! I highly recommend it.
  • (5/5)
    This was fun! England's writing is occasionally a little forced, but I enjoyed this more than Spellhackers! I wish it were a whole series though, because I felt like it was a little rushed. Plus, I need to know what's going to happen with Case, Ryan and Nax. You can't just hint at a throuple and then leave me hanging!
  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    A fun Sci-Fi adventure that will keep you entertained. The audiobook is wonderfully narrated as well!

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    This was a solidly fun book. The dedication says it all: “To Everyone who’s ever felt like a disaster. Here, have a spaceship! Now fly.” That introduction kicks off a book that is both adventure and redemption. To me, I see it as a jumble or Firefly, with a bit of Star Wars, and Galaxy quest (minus non-humans) mixed in.Nax has a bit of a daredevil streak. He wants to be the best pilot in the spaceverse, and he pushes every limit there is. Even ones he shouldn’t. It gets him kicked out of flight school. However, that is one of the luckiest things that can ever happen to him and his ragtag group of ex cadets. Space has been colonized. The moon is the jumpstation. The space school, and education programs are there for future colonists to learn everything they need when they leave school forever. But there is something afoot. The station is taken over, Nax barely escapes with his life, and the lives of 3 others who all managed to flunk out of the academy. The rejects are the only hoping of saving the colonies. From what? From who? Like I’m going to tell, read the book for yourself. It’s totally worth it. There are many things that I liked about this book. I like how it was open. Nax, the leader of the group is attracted to people, not guys, not girls, but people for who they are not for their sex. Gender identification and sexul orientation is taken as wrote (mostly). This is just the way they are and it is okay. I also like the inclusion of other cultures. I had to find a dictionary for no less than 6 words, all of which were arabic. Once again it, it just is. I like that. And I love learning about these things. One character is muslim, and it’s no big deal. Yes there is a joke about knowing what time to pray when you’re in space, but it works. I just love the inclusivity.As for world and story building, it’s not bad. There are somethings I would think would be much further along. This story takes place in 2194, yet somethings like the tabs seem so 2019, I would think humans would have advanced passed tablets if they have been able to make space jumps take hours instead of lifetimes. But that is the science nerd in me complaining. It didn’t distract from the story but more of questions I would like fleshed out in future books.Speaking of future books, I asked the author, and currently this is a standalone. No sequels in the works. BUMMER!!! I would love to continue reading about this crew. In fact, I think this book would make for a great movie or show. The author does a decent job writing an action scene, and as there are quite a few in the book , so that is a good thing. This book has found the perfect algorithm to mix comedy, heart, and adventure to keep a reader turning pages. And while I know there is no future book coming any time soon, I look forward to seeing what this author brings us next.#MountTBR#Booked2019#LittenLoveBingo#NancyDrewChallenge#BNFantasyChallenge#KillYourTBR#SFFTBRChallenge

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I really enjoyed this. A fun group of misfits ... who discover they fit together. You’ll find yourself in one of these crew members! I want to be a honorary member!!

    1 person found this helpful

  • (2/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    To be fair to any readers of this review, I DNF'ed this book about 2/3 of the way through, so it's possible that the whole thing wrapped up spectacularly, but I spoiled the ending for myself and I highly doubt the ending would change my views on the book.My problems with this book were mainly that it didn't feel fresh or inventive, the problems that the characters faced were all miraculously solved by "coincidences" and the ~~love triangle~~ thing that was going on was annoying and didn't feel very realistic or add to the plot. I wanted this to be a misfits in space fast-paced adventure with some good action and honestly it was none of those things. The space world didn't seem to be the main point, it was a lot of planet hopping. The internal mechanisms of the future were so pedestrian I didn't have to give them a single thought, which disappointed me from a worldview perspective. And nothing felt really rooted in stakes that the characters (or I) cared about enough to put me on the edge of my seat. The pros to this book are that it does a fair job of assembling a diverse cast of characters and it's definitely a quick read. It reminded me in the vaguest of ways of Carry On, so if you liked that you might like this (although I think that book was better).

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I heard this book marketed as six of crows in space and boy I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. The disasters showcases a rag tag group of incredibly diverse characters from very different backgrounds who find themselves on a journey through space and different planets after accidentally getting caught up in events that lead to them needing to save the universe. And yes, as the book title suggests, they are complete disasters. Each character has a certain aspect about them that lead them to getting kicked out of Ellis Station Academy; some of them are slightly understandable while others are completely arbitrary and incredibly infuriating. There is a slight love triangle, which is my least favorite trope of any book, that I found incredibly unnecessary but at the same time I also felt as if it was handled differently than most other love triangles and it didn't really affect my thoughts of the story because of that. Overall, I enjoyed my experience and I loved what I read. I am a sucker for the found family trope, especially when the characters in said family trope have as many issues as the characters in this story do, and it definitely added to my enjoyment of the book.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    Who doesn’t love an epic space adventure with a bunch of miscreants blamed for a crime they didn’t commit. This was very good, can’t wait to check out the authors other works.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    A group of washouts from an elite space academy are the sole witnesses and soon the scapegoats for a terrorist attack by Earth First forces. The group of five use all their skills, wits, and just luck to survive and bring to light the plan of the group. Super fun. The diversity of the characters is woven in seamlessly.

    1 person found this helpful