Găsiți următorul dvs. carte audio preferat

Deveniți un membru astăzi și ascultați gratuit pentru 30 zile

evaluări:
3.5/5 (62 evaluări)
Lungime:
8 hours
Lansat:
Sep 29, 2020
ISBN:
9781797111889
Format:
Carte audio

De asemenea, disponibil ca...

De asemenea, disponibil ca carteCarte

De asemenea, disponibil ca...

De asemenea, disponibil ca carteCarte

Descriere

The year's most brutal, cinematic thrill ride is also one of its most critically acclaimed novels. Dazed and Confused meets 28 Days Later in this "wickedly entertaining," (Kirkus Reviews) "volcano of a book" (Nathan Ballingrud, author of Wounds) as a lonely young woman teams up with a group of fellow outcasts to survive the night in a town overcome by a science experiment gone wrong.

A Best Book of the Month for Den of Geek, Omnivoracious, Mystery & Suspense, and Tor.

A Goodreads' 2020 Readers Choice Nominee for Best Horror, and one of the Best Books of 2020 for The Lineup, Booked, and Unsettling Reads.

Turner Falls is a small tourist town nestled in the hills of central Oregon. When a terrifying outbreak rapidly develops, this idyllic town becomes the epicenter of an epidemic of violence.

The Loop is a "wild and wonderfully scary novel" (Richard Chizmar, author of Gwendy's Magic Feather) that offers a "hilarious and horrifying" (Brian Keene, author of The Rising) look at what one team of misfits can accomplish as they fight to live through the night.

"[A] harrowing thrill ride of the first order and an uncompromising page-turner, easily securing its spot as one of the best novels of 2020." -Rue Morgue (featured "Dante's Pick" Review)

"Like the best of Crichton or Bentley, it is a great beach read, but it is infused with the neon blood of a brave new writer... [A] kind of literary roller coaster. It will take you to thrilling highs and terrifying lows…" -Los Angeles Review of Books

"The Loop is the gore-soaked, anxiety-inducing, diabolically funny Richard Linklater/David Cronenberg mashup you never knew you wanted but can't-or at least shouldn't-live without." -The Big Thrill

"Unputdownable...Fans of The Twilight Zone, The X-Files, and Stranger Things will be especially thrilled." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A satisfyingly dark satire of, well, everything...[a] heart-pounding and deeply unsettling tale." -Booklist

"The Loop is a remarkably propulsive novel, cinematic in the best way, with perfectly tuned tension and excellent character choices…a headlong, straightforward pleasure." -Locus

"The Loop is the Cronenberg film we never got." -Nathan Ballingrud, author of North American Lake Monsters and Wounds
Lansat:
Sep 29, 2020
ISBN:
9781797111889
Format:
Carte audio

De asemenea, disponibil ca...

De asemenea, disponibil ca carteCarte


Despre autor

Jeremy Robert Johnson is the author of the critically acclaimed collection Entropy in Bloom as well as the breakthrough cult novel Skullcrack City. His fiction has been praised by The Washington Post and Publishers Weekly, authors such as David Wong, Chuck Palahniuk, and Jack Ketchum, and has appeared internationally in numerous anthologies and magazines. In 2008, he worked with The Mars Volta to tell the story behind their Grammy Award–winning album, The Bedlam in Goliath. In 2010 he spoke about weirdness and metaphor as a survival tool at the Fractal 10 conference in Medellin, Colombia. In 2017, his short story “When Susurrus Stirs” was adapted for film and won numerous awards including the Final Frame Grand Prize and Best Short Film at the H.P. Lovecraft Film Festival. Jeremy is intermittently social over at Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter @JRL_Is_Probable.

Legat de The Loop

Cărți audio conex

Recenzii

Ce părere au oamenii despre The Loop

3.7
62 evaluări / 4 Recenzii
Ce părere aveți?
Evaluare: 0 din 5 stele

Recenziile cititorilor

  • (5/5)
    Excellent book. Even if it was written from the perspective of teens / young adults, there was nothing child like or cheesy about it. It was actually pretty brutal but satisfying in its real ness, despite it being sci-fi. Unlike some à I-books which are very dry, this book took emotions into account. The pace was very good and the listener doesn’t have time to get bored off the story. The character development and dialog is also quite good. Definitely would recommend.
  • (5/5)
    What a great ride! I had low expectations based on the description but decided to give it a chance. I was pleasantly surprised by the non-stop action and the well developed characters. I also really loved the narrator, she was perfect for this book. .
  • (5/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    This is a really good book! Written with a realistic vibe and a depth of misfits that truly show the variety of brokenness in our society but keeps your full attention to the end. If you don't mind some cussing, and can handle the real raw nature of people trying to survive in an unlikely situation, you will without a doubt enjoy this book

    1 person found this helpful

  • (5/5)
    Full of suspense. Lots of gore. Awesome metaphors for the human experience.