Găsiți următorul dvs. carte audio preferat

Deveniți un membru astăzi și ascultați gratuit pentru 30 zile
The Wife Upstairs: A Novel

The Wife Upstairs: A Novel


The Wife Upstairs: A Novel

evaluări:
4/5 (374 evaluări)
Lungime:
9 hours
Lansat:
Jan 5, 2021
ISBN:
9781250752451
Format:
Carte audio

Descriere

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

"Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." --EW


One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • Parade • BuzzFeed • E!Online TimeOut • Woman's Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello! Mystery and Suspense

January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

"A compulsively readable tale that flips Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre on its head…a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." -- EW

Lansat:
Jan 5, 2021
ISBN:
9781250752451
Format:
Carte audio


Despre autor


Legat de The Wife Upstairs

Cărți audio conex

Recenzii

Ce părere au oamenii despre The Wife Upstairs

4.0
374 evaluări / 22 Recenzii
Ce părere aveți?
Evaluare: 0 din 5 stele

Recenziile cititorilor

  • (2/5)
    This book was predictable and incredibly disappointing. Does not live up to the hype.
  • (4/5)
    I really enjoyed the story. I feel I would have preferred to read that, rather than be read to. The character voices took a while for me to understand (I usually listen to audiobooks) who was who. The main narrator sounded like Siri reading and I couldn’t take the character seriously.
  • (1/5)
    Narrators voice is very annoying. Made me hate the book
  • (5/5)
    4.5 stars...
    Twice I thought I had the plot figured out...twice I was wrong! I really enjoyed the characters in this one. It’s my first book by this author and I’ve already put a few more in my TBR!

    Fast paced and engaging, even funny at times. This tale follows multiple timelines and events, jumping back and forth to weave the perfect mystery.

    The *only* thing I was slightly disappointed in is that one of the built up dramas wasn’t as big as it probably should have been to really knock it out of the park. Otherwise it was highly entertaining!

  • (2/5)
    It might have been a new version of the Jane Eyre story but it was just boring, predictable and I didn't like any of the annoying characters.
  • (4/5)
    Very good and with a big nod to Wuthering Heigths.
  • (5/5)
    This book turned out to be so much better than I initially thought it would be. It kept me entertained the entire way through. I normally don’t find myself reading mystery/thriller books like this but it was well worth it.
  • (4/5)
    Pretty good book. Didn’t expect the ending. I expected more though, but overall good.
  • (4/5)
    Loved the reader, good plot line. Characters are a little bland though.
  • (5/5)
    It was soo good! I loved the ending. Highly recommended.
  • (3/5)
    This book was not particularly thrilling, but I was entertained.
  • (3/5)
    This was an interesting modern take on a classic. Overall I liked it and it was a good suspenseful quick read.
  • (4/5)
    Great suspense book, I enjoyed the different perspectives. I did not like how there was so many cuss words.
  • (5/5)
    Great! It had me hooked within the first 20 minutes!
  • (4/5)
    Very oral and swearing but the plot twists were surprising, the different streams of consciousness of different characters were also an interesting narrative tool
  • (4/5)
    Suburban thriller at it's best. Fucked up characters, unreliable narratives, crazy twists. Amazing!!! 4.5 stars
  • (4/5)
    This was a wild ride, and didn't go where I was expecting it to. I've never read Jane Eyre, so as far as a retelling, I can't say how it was. But as a mystery/thriller with romance vibes, it was good. The changing perspectives were interesting, and the narration on the audio was well done.

    This follows a trio of terrible people doing terrible things to each other, and I kept changing my mind on who I felt bad for or was worried about. There is Jane, not her real name, who is determined to wife herself to the rich widower in the community where she dog walks, whilst keeping her sordid past a secret, even as it tries to catch up with her. Eddie, the widower, who is keeping his wife captive, when everyone else thinks she and her best-friend died the same night. And Bea, the trapped wife, who through flashbacks we learn wasn’t so honest about her what her past was like, either.

    Definitely twisty, for fans of Verity, The Family Upstairs, and If We Were Villains this is a family drama with a love triangle, rich socialites, and some past perspectives to fill in the gaps as we go. You never quite know who is the victim and who is the villain, but you can't put it down until you find out.
  • (4/5)
    A modern Southern Gothic take on Jane Eyre? Yes, please! Set in a neighborhood of McMansions in Birmingham, Alabama, we have a Jane, a dog-walker with a mysterious background. We have a widowed Mr. Rochester. Of course, their paths cross. But what are those occasional thumps from the Rochesters' attic? What really happened to Bea Rochester and her best friend? I found this book to be intriguing and entertaining, not just the mysteries but some sly social commentary on the lives of the Rochesters' neighbors. I won't get into how far the Jane Eyre parallels go, because I don't want to give too much away. But I do recommend this book. I listened to the audio version, and it was excellent - very well narrated.
    Thanks to Netgalley and Macmillan Audio for providing a copy for an unbiased review.
  • (5/5)
    Test test test test test test test test test test
  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    Fun, easy reading. I enjoyed the satirical aspects best, and preferred the parts that reflected the original novel.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I liked it . I never read a book where I hated so many characters lol.. but it worked.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (4/5)
    Great book, but could have done without some of the profanity.