Sunteți pe pagina 1din 34
Committee to Review the Health Effects in Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides (Ninth Biennial
Committee to Review the Health Effects in
Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides
(Ninth Biennial Update)
January, 16, 2013
Beckman Center
100 Academy
Irvine, CA, 92617
Presenters: Tanya Mack and Jenna Van Leer
(COVVHA) Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance, INC

980 Wheeler Way P.O. Box 1204 Langhorne, PA 19047 Phone: 1-570-468-4035 COVVHA@Gmail.com Www. COVVHA.net

Table of Contents

Tanya Mack Testimony Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance…………………………………………

3-6

Jenna Van Leer, COVVHA Member, Testimony about her Mother……………………….…………………………6-8

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SUBMITTED FOR COMMITTEE REVIEW………………………………………….…9

Email submissions from COVVHA
Email submissions from COVVHA members…………………………………………………………………………………
10-11
Covered birth defects/ Presumptive illnesses in COVVHA……………………………………………………………
12
Congenital Abnormalities totals in COVVHA………………………………………………………………………………….13
Graph of all illnesses reported from COVVHA……………………………………………………………………………….14
COVVHA recommendations…………………………………………………………………………………………………………15-19
Letters from Tanya’s doctors …………………………………………
16-17
Complete illness list reported to COVVHA about COVVs (2 generation)………………………………………20-30
Complete illness list reported to COVVHA about Grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans………………
31-32
Graph showing Grand Children of Vietnam Veterans illnesses………………………………………………………33
Thanks and Bibliography………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
34
LINGO:
COVV – Child of a Vietnam Veteran
COVVHA- Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance
1 st generation- Those exposed to Herbicide Dioxin

2 nd Generation- The Offspring of those exposed, A.K.A COVVs

3 rd Generation – The grandchildren of the 1 st generation

Good Afternoon, My name is Tanya Renee Mack. I am here representing COVVHA (Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance). I am 39 years old and am a 2nd generation Agent Orange Survivor. My father, SSGT. James Sciaccotti was a Combat Controller in the United States Air Force and was part of the Special Operations Squadron, 101st Airborne Unit in the A shau Valley from 1966 –1968.

The age range of children of Vietnam Veterans is roughly between the ages of 20-45.
The age range of children of Vietnam Veterans is roughly between the ages of 20-45. Many
of us have Fathers with service connected Agent Orange Claims recognized by the Veterans
Administration. Most of us have Dads who are dead or dying of Agent Orange presumptive
illnesses that have been recognized by the VA. Our lives and the lives of our kids are the
result of a giant science experiment between the United States Government and the
chemical companies gone awry.
New information known about human exposure to dioxin and trans-generational
exposures, reinforces our belief of a strong plausibility of an epigenetic link to our illnesses
and our Father’s or Mother’s service connection to the Vietnam War. We have been treated
as collateral damage. The science is now quickly catching up with what we have known all
along, we’ve been damaged by a war we did not fight.
COVVHA completes an informal survey when a new member joins our private support
community. Through our 500 members (only COVVs) we have consistently been faced with
like illnesses, and deformities. We want to bring this information to you, the IOM, urging
this committee to finally investigate fully what has been done to us and our children. From
our informal research we believe the children and grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans have
a much higher instance of several types of disease. (In our submitted documents you will see
the categories of illnesses and the number of times the illness has been reported).
Represented in our membership also, are several suffering from the illnesses on the
Veterans Presumptive lists, please keep in mind this is a group of people between ages 20-
45.

Diabetes Type II Hodgkin's Lymphoma Ischemic Heart Disease Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Peripheral Neuropathy, Acute and Sub-acute Respiratory Cancers

Soft Tissue Sarcoma Parkinson’s Disease

Our membership of 500 COVVs have reported as many as 93 different congenital anomalies. Fourteen of them listed on the testimony we have submitted are some of same birth defects that are currently covered for the children of Women Vietnam Veterans. Considering there were 6-8 thousand women Vietnam Veterans and Approximately 2.8 million men who served, COVVHA believes this Study was used to keep the children of male Vietnam Veterans from making claims even though early studies showed dioxin caused birth defects in the children of Male Vietnam Veterans. Our fathers were told they were overreacting; there was no scientific link to their children being born with birth defects, rare illnesses and cancers.

Air Force study of Ranch Hand personnel responsible for herbicide spraying reported statistically significant increase
Air Force study of Ranch Hand personnel responsible for herbicide spraying reported
statistically significant increase in reported birth defects in the Ranch Hand group
(Albanese, 1988). Defects included: Skin defects, Neural tube defects, Heart defects, Oral
clefts, and Kidney defects.
Erickson, et al (1984) reported that risks for fathering an infant with spina bifida, cleft lip,
and certain neoplasms” were higher for Vietnam veterans than controls.
Increased evidence of birth defects were also reported in a population of Vietnam veterans
living in Tasmania (Field and Kerr, 1988).,
These were ignored, as were many other studies on the effects of dioxin on offspring from
other countries, like in Vietnam where reports of birth defects, miscarriage and deformities
were rampant.

In September of 2012, Washington State released an epigenetic study looking at exposures of female mice to dioxin and the trans-generational effects dioxin had on the children and grandchildren of the mice. The Study showed there was a negative trans-generational effect. We need more of this type of research, Skinner, et al (2012). That study was funded partially by the Department of Defense. Why can’t they replicate the same study, but just expose male mice?

COVVHA would like to offer the following recommendations (See our submitted testimony for more):

A. The eighteen plus birth defects for children of female Vietnam Veterans should be

approved for children of male Vietnam Veterans: This act alone would help some of the most disabled, and those in most desperate need of services, in the COVV community.

B. Free DNA and Epigenetic testing for the biological Children of Vietnam Veterans : (Our
B. Free DNA and Epigenetic testing for the biological Children of Vietnam Veterans :
(Our Data shows that biological children of Vietnam Veterans who have been required by
their Doctors to have DNA Testing have proven to show genetic mutations. See submitted
documents).
C. An offical agent Orange Registry for Children of Vietnam Veterans
(COVVHA proposes that an official Agent Orange registry be made available to the biological
children of Vietnam Veterans.)
COVVHA has submitted the types and numbers of each of the roughly 694 illness we have
had reported over the past year. We are willing to cooperate with the IOM in any way
possible.
Now I will turn my time over to my daughter, Ms. Jenna Van Leer, also from COVVHA
=====================================================================

Hello, my name is Jenna Van Leer, I am eighteen years old and the granddaughter of a deceased Vietnam Veteran, who died due to his service connected exposure to Agent Orange.

I would like to submit this personal story about my mom to you, the committee. This story

is

written in my Mother’s words:

I am 39 years old and am a 2nd generation Agent Orange Survivor, I was
I am 39 years old and am a 2nd generation Agent Orange Survivor,
I was born with severe hip dysplasia and started having hip reconstruction surgery at just 4
months old. I learned to walk in a full body cast after my second reconstruction at 13
months old. After 15 hip reconstruction surgeries, at age 17, I had my first total hip
replacement surgery. 22 years later, I’ve had 4 total hip replacements. Currently, I’m
scheduled to have it replaced for the 5 th time.
At 32 years old I started to develop multiple basal cell and squamous cell carcinomas. They
were very aggressive and according to the pathology reports, were a different mutation
than normal. I was sent to UCLA to have genetic testing. There, I was diagnosed with Basal
Cell Nevus Syndrome (also known as Gorlin Syndrome) with a Mutation in my PTCH1 gene.
A mutation in this gene is only caused one of two ways. It is either inherited from a parent
or a new mutation occurs due to chemical or biological environmental exposures. Only 20%
of all cases reported are new mutations. Both of my parents were tested, and neither one
had the mutation which means that I am in the 20% of new mutations.
By the time I was 34 I had a total hysterectomy due to Squamous Cell Carcinoma in my
Uterus and on my Ovaries.
At 35 years old, I was diagnosed with Lupus and Raynaud’s Disease, again no family history.
I was also informed the severe back pain that I was having was a curve in my spine.
In 2010, I was diagnosed with Melanoma. I was fortunate that is was caught early and had not
spread to my Lymph Nodes. It did however, spread far enough to have tissue and muscle
removed, causing a golf ball size disfigurement in my shin.

August, 2011, I was diagnosed with another rare form of Cancer called Bowen’s Disease. Now, my Oncologist was extremely worried because they almost never see this in someone as young as me. Bowen’s Disease is caused by extreme exposure to Arsenic and is considered Arsenic Poisoning. Since I have never worked or been exposed to herbicides or pesticides, I was told by

my Oncologist that it was due to my Father’s exposure to Agent Orange. Over 50% of the Compound used in Agent Orange was Arsenic.

In March 2012, my Oncologist found a large tumor on the neck of my gallbladder which required another surgery to have my entire gallbladder removed.

As of today, I have had 198 skin biopsies of which 181 were positive for
As of today, I have had 198 skin biopsies of which 181 were positive for Cancer. I am currently
on a new Cancer drug in which I was involved in the Clinical Trial. This drug, however, will only
slow down the progression of Basal Cells and still leaves me vulnerable for Squamous Cell and
Melanoma. I’m in constant pain and my quality of life has decreased drastically over the last
several years.
My medical costs with insurance runs an average of $800-$1000 dollars a month. These costs
consist of office visit copays ($45 per visit) and tier 6 drugs, these do not count toward my
annual out of pocket maximum. Because of this, I struggle every month to make ends meet as
my medical insurance and copayments/coinsurance have to be first priority.
In March 2007, in an attempt to get help with my mounting medical costs, I applied to the Department
of Veterans Affairs for benefits (38 U.S.C. 1815). I sent the V.A all of the required documents, and
medical records. I felt confident I would get some help because after all, Hip Dysplasia is a covered birth
defect. Four months later I received a letter from The Department of Veterans Affairs denying
my claim (See Statement below).
“We denied entitlement to a monthly monetary allowance for your claimed birth defect(s) because the evidence
does not show that your biological Mother served in Vietnam to qualify for payment under 38 U.S.C. 1815. The
claimed disability is hip dysplasia which is considered a qualifying condition. However, regulation 38 C.F.R. 3.815
refers to benefits allowable for an individual with disability from covered birth defects whose biological mother is or
was a Vietnam Veteran”
I remember thinking that my Father’s Service to his Country would end up killing me. In my
opinion, this was blatant discrimination against men and their offspring. I became depressed
and wanted to give up. I was undergoing systemic chemotherapy at the time of my denial
letter, and did not know how I would be able to continue since I could not afford the co-
insurance for each treatment. Without going into detail, I will say my family has had to give up a
lot so I could stay alive.

August 21, 2012, My father passed away from Lung and Colon Cancer. He was 64 years old. His

Cancer had been attributed to his exposure to Agent Orange. At the time of his death, he was receiving benefits from the V.A. and was considered 100% disabled due to service connected

Agent Orange Exposure…

his exposure could have any effect on me, Sad!

But

of course, according o the V.A., there was no possible way that

This story is not fiction, it is what I have grown up watching my mother go through every day of her life , now let me share a quick look into my own life:

This past spring, my mom mentioned to her Oncologist the large birthmark on the back of my leg. Her Oncologist immediately became concerned and wanted to examine my birth mark. My mother’s various forms of aggressive cancer prompted him. After examination, and a biopsy, I have been ordered to have it examined every six months due to some pre cancerous indicators. As an 18 year old woman, I am now afraid that I too will suffer from unexplained illnesses in the future. I am also unsure if my own children will someday also have to bear this burden. My grandfather’s exposure seems to be going through the generations of my family.

I ask the IOM committee to hear our voices. Thank you on behalf of Children
I ask the IOM committee to hear our voices. Thank you on behalf of Children of Vietnam
Veterans Health Alliance.

Committee to Review the Health Effects in Vietnam Veterans of Exposure to Herbicides (Ninth Biennial Update)

January, 16, 2013 Beckman Center 100 Academy Irvine, CA, 92617 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SUBMITTED FOR COMMITTEE
January, 16, 2013
Beckman Center
100 Academy
Irvine, CA, 92617
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SUBMITTED FOR COMMITTEE REVIEW
(COVVHA) Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance, INC

980 Wheeler Way P.O. Box 1204 Langhorne, PA 19047 Phone: 1-570-468-4035 COVVHA@Gmail.com Www. COVVHA.net

EMAIL SAMPLES RECEIVED BY COVVHA FROM JANUARY 2012- TO DECEMBER 2012

I am 38 years old and despite very limited physical activity since tearing my ACL in 2001, my joints have become a real source of pain and not just in the knees. “

His son, a doctor, is in treatment for alcoholism he used to self medicate OCD and anxiety. My brother was nuked by agent orange in Vietnam, his daughter had endometriosis and a hysterectomy. His son, a doctor, is in treatment for alcoholism he used to self medicate OCD and anxiety.”

“I am the daughter of a Vietnam veteran who was exposed to Agent Orange. I
“I am the daughter of a Vietnam veteran who was
exposed to Agent Orange. I was born with a heart
condition and I am wondering
are
their defects
“My father served in Vietnam and I was born
prematurely and am blind in one eye.”
found in the children of children from the original
veterans?”
“As a child of a Vietnam Veteran, I was born with a
severe DSD (disorder of sexual development) and I
was wondering if there was a link to Agent Orange
exposure.”
“I have a 9 year old daughter born with one kidney
with Chronic Kidney Disease (Grandchild of a
Vietnam Veteran).”
“My mentor and colleague, is the daughter of a
Vietnam Veteran and has been battling illness all her
life. At the age of 42, she continues to visit doctors,
only to walk away with medications that either thin
her blood or temporarily numb her pain.”
“My son was born with Spina Bifida and there is no
evidence in our family history of any one ever being
born with a birth defect (Grandchild of a Vietnam
Veteran).”
“I have a couple of issues with my body that I was
born with, that are not on the list
Tracheoesophageal
fistula. My boys 3rd generation have Hypospadias,
and my 16 yr old was diagnosed with hodgkins
lymphoma. I am a firm believer that we have these
because of my father serving in Vietnam, and being
sprayed with AO.”
“At the age of 24(almost 25), I was diagnosed with
Borderline Malignant Ovarian Tumors in both my
ovaries. At 25, I had surgery to remove these tumors.
I lost one whole ovary and a partial ovary to the
tumors. There is no history of cancer or this type of
tumor in my family.”
“I have several of the conditions on your list, along
with another called hyperaldosteronism.”
“My brothers 18 year old cannot have children, she is
missing a chromosome (Grandchild of a Vietnam
Veteran).”
“My son was born with pyloric and subglottic
stenosis as well as a retractile testicle.”
“A long-term client at our firm is a Vietnam veteran
exposed to Agent Orange in 1969-1970. He has an
now-adult child who was diagnosed with Arnold
Chiari Malformation Type I (but not spina bifida)
when she was 13 yrs old after suffering from
headaches and loss of peripheral vision.
Subsequently, she had brain surgery”

“I am the oldest child, took my parents until they were 30 years old to conceive me due to lots of complications. When I was born I was a c section and had one of my first of many surgical operations right away. Up until I was 16, I've had more than 48 operations. Yes, 48. Ranging from full facial reconstruction, to ear canal reconstruction in both ears, midface advancements, respiratory surgeries, nose surgeries, I've had a tracheotomy at one point. I wear hearing aids, glasses, I can't smell, my back is on fire after standing up for a few minutes, and recently diagnosed with degenerative bone disease in my hip. I'm only 31. I've been on Social Security Disability since I was 18 and get a small amount of SSI on behalf of my fathers benefits.”

“My brother was nuked by agent orange in Vietnam, his daughter had endometriosis and a hysterectomy.

“Myself, I have a short left arm , my left hand thumb doesn't have a joint, index finger leans to the left, other fingers are small, was born with yellow jaundice.”

In May 2012 I was diagnosed with Arnold Chiari Malformation, I am 45 years old born in 1967. No one else in my family suffers from this condition, on either sid “I am currently 30 years old and have been recently diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis.”

I'm currently on medical leave from work and was basically told not to come back until I figure out what's wrong with me and a way to fix it.”

“I was born with Clubfoot in both feet.”

“In the past few years, my health has been declining rapidly. I don't remember all the technical/medical names for everything, but they include a collapsed pituitary gland, arthritis in my knees, right shoulder, carpal tunnel syndrome and depression/anxiety.”

12. Three times I have been hospitalized in the last

four years with "Infection of an Undetermined

Cause" with bizarre masses on my neck and head that inevitably were benign and never a case determined. This was concluded to be an Autoimmune Disease with an Unknown Etiology.

13. 4 Miscarriages 14. Anaphylactic attacks that

come suddenly with no determined cause

15. Seizures 16. Many ovarian cysts for which I have had a multitude of operations
15. Seizures 16. Many ovarian cysts for which I
have had a multitude of operations
“My grandson has a bad case of this skin disorder
which covers his back and arms. My son is also
affected with this skin disorder and was diagnosed
with type 1 diabetes when he was 14 years old
(Child of a Vietnam Veteran and Grandchild of a
Vietnam Veteran).”
“I have 32 illnesses including renal failure. I am 37
years old, the same age my dad was when he died
from Agent Orange related cancer.”
“I always had strange illnesses growing up until I was
Hospitalized and later found out I was diagnosed
with Multiple Sclerosis.”
“I am 40 years old. I was born two months premature
without my right leg below the knee, several missing
fingers on both hands and webbed toes. My Father
had five bypasses on his heart at age 38, he died at
age 50 of a massive heart attack his death was service
connected due to Agent Orange.”
“I too am a child of a Vietnam Vet born with a birth
defect. I am missing 2 fingers on my right hand while
“I am 32 years old. I was born without my right arm.”
it was webbed and i do not have a right pectoris with
a bone in the middle of my chest.”
“I am just looking for answers as to why my both
children have all these illnesses.”
“I am 38 years old. I can not have children because
I suffered with ovarian cysts from a young age and
then I suffered with infertility and had to have a
total hysterectomy in 2011.”
I am a 34 year old female and I have officially been
diagnosed with the following:
1. Von Willebrand's Disease Type 2 (nobody in my
“I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes at age 10. At
18, I started experiencing pain in my joints and
muscles,at 20 I was diagnosed with rheumatoid
arthritis, (this DOES NOT run in my family (explain
that). At about age 19, I started noticing tremors in
my hands and small jerking like turrets almost. I
thought it was due to blood sugar from the diabetes
or maybe a medication. We ruled out any possible
explanation and I was diagnosed last year with early
onset Parkinson's. Having had no exposure to
harmful drugs or a trauma to my head, doctor's
cannot explain the reason for my having Parkinson's
at age 22 and younger.”
families have ever been diagnosed with this)
2. Endometriosis 3. PCOS 4. Constant Menorrhagia
for as long as 11 consecutive months throughout my
life resulting in Hypovolemia, Hypokalemia, and
severe anemia requiring roughly _30 transfusions
over the years. 5. Amenorrhea as long as 6
consecutive months with no menstrual cycle at all
“Our daughter would be 14 right now, she passed
away at age 9. She was born with multiple birth
defects. Hydrocephalus, encephalocele, small brain
stem and Holoprosencephaly and a seizure-disorder.
Cerebral Palsy (Grandchild of a Vietnam Veteran).”
6.
Adult Brain Stem Glioma7. Esophageal Ulcer

8. Rheumatoid Arthritis 9. Osteoarthritis

10. Severe Magnesium Deficiency

11. Migraines with aura Multiple Times Daily with

Constant Headache since January

Represented Birth defects

Birth Defects That are on the Children of Women Vietnam Compensation list by the VA but are not compensated for the children of male Vietnam Veterans and are present in our Children of Vietnam Veteran Health Alliance membership (Approximately 500 members).

Achondroplasia Cleft lip and cleft palate Congenital heart disease Congenital talipes equinovarus (clubfoot)
Achondroplasia
Cleft lip and cleft palate
Congenital heart disease
Congenital talipes equinovarus (clubfoot)
Esophageal and intestinal atresia
Hip dysplasia
Hydrocephalus due to aqueductal stenosis
Hypospadias
Imperforate anus
Neural tube defects
Poland syndrome
Pyloric stenosis
Syndactyly (fused digits)
Tracheoesophageal fistula
Represented in our membership are several suffering from the illnesses on the Veterans
Presumptive lists, please keep in mind this is a group of people between ages 20-45.
Diabetes Type II
Hodgkin's Lymphoma
Ischemic Heart Disease
Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma
Peripheral Neuropathy, Acute and Subacute
Respiratory Cancers
Soft Tissue Sarcoma
Parkinson’s Disease

The name and total number of Congenital Abnormalities within COVVHA (500 Members)

Congenital Anomalies (195) Acephaly Ankylogossia AKA Tongue Tied Arteriovenous Malformation (2) Bicornuate Uterus/Septate Uterus (5) Bicuspid Aorta Heart Valve Bicuspid Valve Prolapse Bipartide Patellas Bones Missing at Birth Born Blind Born Deaf (2) Bowel Deformity (2) Brain Stem Abnormalities Brain Stem Small Camptodactyl Caudel Regression Syndrome AKA Sacral Agenesis Choristoma AKA Hamartoma, Tumor in the Ear Cleft Lips Cleft Palate Club Foot AKA Talipes Equinovares (2) Congenital Scoliosis Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia Congenital Anosenia, Born without the ability to smile Congenital Heart Blockage Congenital Hips (2) Congenital Hypertension Deformed Arms/Legs/Fingers/Toes/Feet Deformed Sinuses Deformity of Chest/ Breast Deformity of Shoulders/ Muscles Deformity of the Face/Head/Neck Diagonal Earlobe Crease Double Cervix

Double Hernia at Birth Double Ureater (3) Double Uterus/Cervix Double Uvula/Cleft Uvula Duplicate Mitral Valve Encephalotrigeminal Angiomatosis SKA Sturge Weber Syndrome Extra Body Parts (Sibling had 3 Kidneys) Extra Bones Extra Vertebrate Fragile X Syndrome Fused Digits (Toes Partially) Fused Vertebrae in Neck (8) Fused Vertebra/ Disc (2) Gene Mutations 4g4g Heart Defect/Murmur/Newborn

Missing Big Toe Missing Digits Missing Fingers Missing Right Leg Below the Knee Missing Limbs/ Body Parts Missing Vertebrae Nevus Sebaceous Oculo-Auriculo-Vertebral(OAV) Syndrome AKA Goldenhar Syndrome Osteogenesis Imperfecta AKA Brittle Bone Disease Pancreas was upside down, facing the wrong way Pectus Excavatum Pelvic Bones Not Fused Pierre Robin Sequence Poland Syndrome Polycystic Kidney Disease Scoliosis (18) Slight Deviated Jaw (2) Small Digits on Hands

(3)
(3)

Hip Deformity (Something Ate The Bone Away, Thought It Was Fungus But No Explaination Attacking Several Bones In Lower Extremities Hydrocephalus AKA Water on the Brain Hypospadias Hypoplastic Heart Imperforate Anus Jaw Deformity/ Surgery Keratosis Pilaris Lateral Microtia Lumbarization Lung Deformity- 3rd Lung Marfan Syndrome Metatarsus Varus AKA Pigeon Toed Methylenetetrahydrofolate Reductase (MTHFR) (2) Microtia Mild Dysplasia (30)

Spina Bifida (3) Spina Bifida Occulta (3) Spinal Deformities (2) Subglottic Stenosis Syndactyl Tooth Formation Absence, Adult Teeth Never Came In (7) Triple Ureater Triple X Syndrome Truncus Arteriosis Uterine Septum AKA Septate Uterus Vacterl Association AKA Vacterl Syndrome Vertebrae Extra/Missing Webbed Toes

Number of Times Reported (Approx 500 People) Complications of Diseases of the Blood and Blood
Number of Times Reported (Approx 500 People)
Complications of
Diseases of the
Blood and Blood
Forming Organs (50)
Pregnancy,
Certain Condit ions
Originating In The
Perinatal Perio d (1)
Childbirth and
Puerperium (15)
Diseases of the
Circulatory
System (157)
Diseases of the
Respiratory System
Neoplasms
Congenital
(54)
(138)
Anomalies
Diseases
(195)
Mental Disorders
(726)
Diseases of the
Digestion System
(387)
Diseases of the
Gentourinary
System (410)
Diseas es of the
Muscul oskeletal
Syste m and
Connect tive Tissue
(3 83)

Endo crine, Nutritio nal, and Metaboli c Diseases and Im munity Disorde rs (247)

o f the Skin and Subc utaneous Tissue (238) Disease s of the Nervous S
o f the Skin
and Subc utaneous
Tissue (238)
Disease s of the
Nervous S ystem and
Sense Org ans (297)
New members of COVVHA ar e asked to self report any illnesses, or congenital
abnormalities they may have.
We ask them to submit any illness they may have a nd not

to only add things they think ar e caused by Agent Orange. Mental illness is the most repor ted issue within our group. We do not claim this to be a sci entific study. It is simply to aid the committee in seeing what we have observed. We wo ould need real help to complete a significant Study .

COVVHA RECOMMENDATIONS

A. The eighteen plus birth defects for children of female Vietnam Veterans should be

approved for children of male Vietnam Veterans: This act alone would help some of the most disabled, and those in most desperate need of services, in the Children of Vietnam veteran community.

From the Veterans Administration Website: Covered birth defects include, but are not limited to, the
From the Veterans Administration Website:
Covered birth defects include, but are not limited to, the following conditions:
§ Achondroplasia
§ Cleft lip and cleft palate
§ Congenital heart disease
§ Congenital talipes equinovarus (clubfoot)
§ Esophageal and intestinal atresia
§ Hallerman-Streiff syndrome
§ Hip dysplasia
§ Hirschprung's disease (congenital megacolon)
§ Hydrocephalus due to aqueductal stenosis
§ Hypospadias
§ Imperforate anus
§ Neural tube defects
§ Poland syndrome
§ Pyloric stenosis
§ Syndactyly (fused digits)
§ Tracheoesophageal fistula
§ Undescended testicle
§ Williams syndrome
Conditions due to family disorders, birth-related injuries, or fetal or neonatal infirmities with well-
established causes are not covered. If any of the birth defects listed above are determined to be a
family disorder in a particular family, they are not covered birth defects.
B. DNA/ Epigenetic TESTING

COVVHA proposes DNA/Epigenetic testing be made available at no cost to the biological children of Vietnam Veterans. Our data shows that biological children of Vietnam Veterans, who have been required by their doctors to have DNA testing, have proven to show genetic mutations. We have submitted results to confirm this. We have at least two others in our group with similar results but did not receive them in time to include them:

“Well, I had done what was called a Jak2 test. The disease I have is called Primary (or Essential) Thrombocytosis. About half of

patients with my disease test positive for Jak2, and I am one of them. Basically, it is a genetic mutation that causes the signals in

my bone marrow to not shut themselves off, so they keep producing more and more cells.

After I had my test done and it came back positive, my Dad had already
After I had my test done and it came back positive, my Dad had already

After I had my test done and it came back positive, my Dad had already been gone 8 years, so my Mom had the test done, which

already been gone 8 years, so my Mom had the test done, which came back negative.

came back negative. She is not a carrier of the mutation.”

already been gone 8 years, so my Mom had the test done, which came back negative.
16
17

C. Agent Orange Registry for Children of Vietnam Veterans COVVHA proposes that an official Agent Orange registry be made available to the biological children of Vietnam Veterans structured in the same manner as the Agent Orange Registry available to Vietnam Veterans.

D.

Legislative remedies - S.1940

On October 27, 2009 Senate Bill S. 1940 was introduced, referred to committee, and died,
On October 27, 2009 Senate Bill S. 1940 was introduced, referred to committee, and died, during 111th session of
congress sponsored by Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY] In summary, the legislation would:
Direct the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to complete, and report to the congressional veterans committees on, a
study of the effects on children of their parents' exposure to herbicides used in support of U.S. and allied
military operations in the Republic of Vietnam during the Vietnam era.
Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes a new legislative remedy for S. 1940. Legislation should be
re-written and introduced directing the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to complete and report a study examining the
health and medical effects of biological children of Vietnam Veterans exposed to herbicides during the Vietnam
War Era, NOT LIMITED TO “IN COUNTRY” or “BOOTS ON THE GROUND”
E. Parents military on medical (doctors appt forms)
Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes that all medical professionals be required to note their
patients inherited herbicide exposure in their charts by including a patient questionnaire which asks, but not
limited to, if one or both parents served in the military during the Vietnam war era.
F. Data Collection Available to the Children of Vietnam Veterans and their
Representatives
Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes that all medical data being collected by government and
non-government entities on the biological children and grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans be made available to
the children of Vietnam Veterans at no cost.
G. International Agent Orange Research Cooperation
Children Of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes international cooperation amongst all leading dioxin
researchers and scientists: In particular those working on epigenetic research.
H. Epidemiology study for Children and grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans
Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes that Epidemiology studies be included in above stated
legislative remedies in addition to “stand Alone” studies

I. We do not recommend “Centers” for the Children of Vietnam Veterans, Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes: the utilization of VA hospitals, or community hospitals, or clinics under special coordination programs with the V.A. These are already established places and would significantly reduce the time needed to begin caring for those

affected by Agent Orange. This would also be geographically more convenient for those who cannot afford to or are too ill to travel long distances.

J. Including Children of Vietnam Veterans in the planning process

Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance proposes a committee of actual Children of Vietnam Veterans be formed to help those creating programs for us that our actual needs are being assessed instead of making assumptions for our population. We maybe the Child of a Vietnam Veteran but we are adults and would like a say in the planning process that will ultimately help the most vulnerable parts of our population. Veterans, widows and researchers have many opinions; however, there must be a true needs assessment.

of our population. Veterans, widows and researchers have many opinions; however, there must be a true

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA

Diseases of the Blood and Blood Forming Organs (50) Anemia (29) Antiphospholipid Syndrome Chronic Neutropenia, Severe Clotting Disorders (7) Factor V Leiden Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP) Platelet Disorder Iron Deficiency (4) Leukocytosis with Neutrophilia Low Red Blood Count Neutropenia Pancytonpenia Thrombophilia SKA Hypercoagulability Von Willebrand Disease

Cardiovascular Disease AKA Heart Disease Cerebrovascular Accident (CVA) AKA Stroke Chronic Venous Insufficiency (CVI), Severe (2) Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT) Dilated Cardiomyopathy with Enlarged Heart Ventricle and 4 Heart Sounds Dysphagia Giant Cell Arteritis (GCA) AKA Temperal Arteritis Hereditary Hemorrhagic Telangiectasia (HHT) AKA Osler- Weber-Rendu Disease HOCM AKA Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy Hypertension AKA High Blood Pressure (42) Hypotension AKA Low Blood Pressure (20) Ischemic Heart Disease Long QT Syndrome Lung Disease/Nodules/ Tumors/Clots Multiple Cardiac Arrests Before Finding Peace at 21/2 YOA (Sibling) Mitral Valve Prolapse

Myocardial Infarction AKA Heart Attack Orthostatic Hypotension Pericarditis Raynaud's Syndrome AKA Raynaud's Phenomenon (5) Rheumatic Fever Sinus Tachycardia (8) Supraventricular Tachycardia (3) Tachycardia AKA Elevated Heart Rate (16) Vasculitis Vericose Veins (14) Vertigo (12) Viral Myocarditis Wolf- Parkinson- White Syndrome (3)

760-779 Certain Conditions Originating In The Perinatal Period (1) Periventricular Leukomalacia 390-459 Diseases of
760-779 Certain Conditions
Originating In The Perinatal
Period (1)
Periventricular Leukomalacia
390-459 Diseases of the
Circulatory System (158)
Atrial Fibrillation (2)
Bradycardia Arrythmia
Cardiac Arrythmia (10)
Cardiomegaly AKA Enlarged
Heart
630-679 Complications of
Pregnancy, Childbirth and
Puerperium (15)
Ectopic Pregnancy (2)
Gestational Diabetes
Pre-Eclampsia (3)
Pregnancy Complications,
Undefined
Pregnancy, Partial Molar
Premature Babies (7)

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Congenital Anomalies (195) Acephaly Ankylogossia AKA Tongue Tied Arteriovenous Malformation (2) Bicornuate Uterus/Septate Born Deaf (2) Bowel Deformity (2) Brain Stem Abnormalities Brain Stem Small Camptodactyl Caudel Regression Syndrome AKA Sacral Agenesis Choristoma AKA Hamartoma, Tumor in the Ear Muscles Deformity of the Face/Head/Neck Diagonal Earlobe Crease Double Cervix Double Hernia at Birth Double Ureater (3) Double Uterus/Cervix Double Uvula/Cleft Uvula Duplicate Mitral Valve Encephalotrigeminal Angiomatosis SKA Sturge Weber Syndrome Extra Body Parts (Sibling had 3 Kidneys) Extra Bones Extra Vertebaes Fragile X Syndrome Fused Digits (Toes Partially) Fused Vertebrae in Neck (8) Fused Vertebra/ Disc (2) Gene Mutations 4g4g Heart Defect/Murmur/Newborn

Uterus (5) Bicuspid Aorta Heart Valve Bicuspid Valve Prolapse Bipartide Patellas Cleft Lips Cleft Palate Club Foot AKA Talipes Equinovares (2) Congenital Scoliosis Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia Congenital Anosenia, Born without the ability to smile Congenital Heart Blockage Hydrocephalus AKA Water on the Brain Hypospadias Hyposplastic Heart Imperforate Anus Jaw Deformity/ Surgery Keratosis Pilaris Lateral Mycrotia Lumbarization Lung Deformity- 3rd Lung Marfan Syndrome Metatarsus Varus AKA Pigeon Toed Methylenetetrahydrofolate Reductase (MTHFR) (2) Microtia Mild Dysplasia (30) Missing Big Toe Missing Digits Missing Fingers (2) Missing Right Leg Below the Knee Missing Limbs/ Body Parts Missing Vertebrae Nevus Sebacious Oculo-Auriculo-Vertebral(OAV) Syndrome AKA Goldenhar Syndrome Osteogenesis Imperfecta AKA

Bones Missing at Birth Born Blind

Congenital Hips (2) Congenital Hypertension Deformed Arms/Legs/Fingers/Toes/Feet Deformed Sinuses Deformity of Chest/
Congenital Hips (2)
Congenital Hypertension
Deformed
Arms/Legs/Fingers/Toes/Feet
Deformed Sinuses
Deformity of Chest/ Breast
Deformity of Shoulders/
Brittle Bone Disease
Pancrease was upside down,
facing the wrong way
Pectus Excavatum
Pelvic Bones Not Fused
Pierre Robin Sequence
Poland Syndrome
Polycystic Kidney Disease
Scoliosis (18)
Slight Deviated Jaw (2)
Small Digits on Hands
(3)

Hip Deformity (Something Ate The Bone Away, Thought It Was Fungus But No Explaination Attacking Several Bones In Lower Extremities

Spina Bifida (3) Spina Bifida Occulta (3) Spinal Deformities (2) Subglottic Stenosis Syndactyl Tooth Formation Absence, Adult Teeth Never Came In (7) Triple Ureater Triple X Syndrome Truncus Arteriosis Uterine Septum AKA Septate Uterus Vacterl Association AKA Vacterl Syndrome Vertebrae Extra/Missing Webbed Toes

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Diseases of the Digestion System (387) Abnormal Rectal Bleeding (12) Appenditicis (9) Benign Oral Cysts (3) Callluses on Vocal Chords Faulty Stomach Acid Caused (2) Celiac Disease (3) Chronic Constipation (20) Cirrhosis of the Liver Due to Atypical Hereditary Hemochromatosis Colon Issues (2) Constipation (5) Crohn's Disease (6) Dental Caries AKA Tooth Decay (26) Digestive Issues (5) Fatty Deposits on Liver (4) Gall Bladder Disease (52) Gall Stones (55) Gastoparesis Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) (87) Gluten Intolerance (6)

Hernia (3) Idiopathic Gastroparesis (3) Irritable Bowel Syndrome AKA Spastic Colon (39) Liver Disease Fatty/ Undefined Liver Lesions Malabsorption of Food and Drink Malabsorption of Vitamin B12 and B1 (2) Pancreatitis (5) Peptic Ulcers AKA Peptic Ulcer Disease AKA Stomach Ulcers (4) Pyloric Stenosis Rectal Prolapse Rectal Seal Prolapse Sphincter of Oddi Disorder Steatohepatitis AKA Fatty Liver Disease Temporomandibular Joint Disorder (TMJ) (16) Tracheoesophageal Fistula (2) Ulcerative Colitis (2) Ulcers- Mouth (4)

Temporomandibular Joint Disorder (TMJ) (16) Tracheoesophageal Fistula (2) Ulcerative Colitis (2) Ulcers- Mouth (4) 22

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Endocrine, Nutrional, and Metabolic Diseases and Immunity Disorders (247)

Addison's Disease Albinism Angiodema Automimmune Disease, Unknown Etiology (26) Benign Multinodular Goiter (7) Calicum Deficiency (2) Compromised Immune System Cryoglobulinemia Cushing's Syndrome Cystic Fibrosis Dehydration Diabetes Type I Diabetes Type II (15) Dwarfism Electrolyte Abnormalities (3) Empty Sella Syndrome Endocrine Disorders (4) Goiter (9) Gout Grave's Disease (5) Growth Hormone Deficiency (GHD) Hashimoto's Autoimmune thyroid Disease (6) Hereditary Angiodema (2)

Hereditary Atypical Hemochromatosis Hypercholersterolmia AKA High Cholesterol (32) Hyperhomocysteinemia Hyperinsulinemia Hyperparathyroidism Hyperprolactinemia Hyperthyroidism (4) Hypoglycemia (17) Hypoparathyroidism Hypokalemia AKA Low Potassium (10) Hypothyroidism (27) Immune Deficiency Syndrome (3) Insuline Resistance Lactose Intolerance (8) Low Vitamin D Levels (31) Metabolic Syndrome Parathyroid Gland Dysfunction (2) Premature Menopause (2) Premature Ovarian Failure Prolactinoma Unspecified Immunodeficiency (6) Vitamin B-12 Deficiency (4)

Menopause (2) Premature Ovarian Failure Prolactinoma Unspecified Immunodeficiency (6) Vitamin B-12 Deficiency (4) 23

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Diseases of the Gentourinary System (410)

Abnormal Cervical Bleeding (16) Abnormal Growth Between Ovaries (8) Abnormal Pap Smears (30) Abnormal Periods (70) Adenomyosis (3) Amenorrhoea Berger's Disease Bilateral Uterus Bladder Infections AKA Urinary Tract Infections (31) Bladder is Collapsing (3) Blood in Urine AKA Hematuria, Undefined Chronic Kidney Disease AKA Chronic Renal Disease (3) Complete Hysterectomy (14) Complete Pelvic Floor Collapse Cysts: Cervix/ Ovaries/Uterus

Infertility (21) Interstital Cystitis Kidney Cysts (6) Kidney Disease Low Estrogen Low Testosterone (5) Menopause Issues, Early (2) Menorrhagia (3) Mullarian Aplasia Nephrolithiasis AKA Kidney Stones Ovarian Cysts (46) Overactive Bladder (16) Pelvice Congestion Syndrome (Before Hysterectomy) Poor Egg Quality (2) Prolapsed Cervix Prostate Problems/Enlarged Pyelonephritis AKA Kidney Infections (6) Renal Calculus AKA Kidney Stones (15) Renal Cyst/ Calcification Renal Failure AKA Renal Insufficiency Reproductive Problems, Female

Testicle Deformity Tilited Uterus (17) Vaginal Bleeding Bacterial Vaginosis AKA Vaginal Bacteriosis AKA Vaginosis Vulvodynia, Pain in the Vulva

001-139 Infections and Parasitic Diseases (38) Bacterial Infections (2) Cervial Infections (5) Chronic Candida and
001-139 Infections and
Parasitic Diseases (38)
Bacterial Infections (2)
Cervial Infections (5)
Chronic Candida and other
Female Reproductive Organ
Infections (13)
Methicillin Staphylococcus
Resistant Aurus (MSRA)
Sarcoidosis
Shingles-
Ears/Mouth/Opthamalic/Throat
(4)
(5)
Endometrial Hyperplasia
Endometrial Polyps KA Uterine
Polyps (5)
Endometriosis (35)
Fibrocystic Breast Changes AKA
Fibrocystic Breast Disease (4)
Fibroid Cysts in Breasts (16)
Focal Segmental
Glomerulosclerosis (FSGS)
Hydrocele Testis
Hymen Issues, Paritally Intact
Strep Throat (6)
Tinea Versicolor
Toxic Shock Syndrome
Tuberculosis (3)
800-999 Injury and Poisoning
(2)
(70)
Retroverted Uterus
Salpingitis Isthmica Nodosa
(SIN)
Secondary Infertility (2)
Allergies (68)
Amputation
Anaphalaxis

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Mental Disorders (726

Addiction-Cigarettes (49) Addiction Other than Cigarettes

(9)

Cognitive Disorder Conversion Disorder Clinical Depression (87) Depression, Major (89) Develpmental Delay Dissociative Disorder Drug Abuse (3) Dyslexia (10) Dysthemia AKA Chronic

Night Terrors (3) Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) (4) Personality Disorders Premenstrual Dysphoric Disorder (7) Post Traumatic Stress Disorder Primary: Related to Family violence (13) Post Traumatic Stress Disorder Secondary (43) Schizophrenia (2) Severe Depression (14) Short Term Memory Problems

Attention Deficit Disorder (5) Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (24) Agoraphobia, Severe (2) Alcoholism (16)
Attention Deficit Disorder (5)
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity
Disorder (24)
Agoraphobia, Severe (2)
Alcoholism (16)
Amnesia AKA Memory Loss AKA
Short Term Memory Loss (31)
Anorexia Nervosa
Anxiety (123)
Aphasia SKA Speech Problems
Depression(2)
(2)
Emotional Problems (4)
Eneuresis AKA Childhood
Bedwetting (14)
Generalized Anxiety Disorder
Asperger's Syndrome
Autism (3)
Bipolar Disorder (26)
Borderline Personality Disorder
(14)
(6)
Insomnia AKA Sleeplessness
(11)
(3)
Borderline Schizophrenia
Childhood Extreme Shyness (25)
Learning Disabilities (4)
Mental Health Issues (9)
Mental Retardation
Nightmares (31)
Social Anxiety Disorder (8)
Social Problems (6)
Suicidal Ideations AKA Suicial
Thoughts (13)
Suicide (Brother)
Tourette's Syndrome

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Diseases of the Musculoskeletal System and Connective Tissue (383)

Ankylosing Spondylitis Arthritis, Inflammatory of the SI Joint, Rhumatoid (24) Arthritis, Juvenile Back Pain, Unspecified (69) (Bilateral) Baker Cysts AKA Popliteal Cyst Bursitis (10) Calcaneal Spur AKA Heal Spur Disc Dessication Facet Syndrome AKA Facet Joint Syndrome (3) Facial Aplasia Felty Syndrome AKA Felty's Syndrome Fibromyalgia (32) Foot Deformity (4) Ganglion Cyst (11) Growths on Skull Involuntary Muscle Spasms Face/Eyes/Legs/Stomach/Abdo men (14) Joint and Muscle Problems/Pain

(8)

Carpal Tunnel (22) Cava Perthes AKA Legg- Calve- Perthes Syndrome Chondromalacia Patallae (3) Chronic Costochondritis AKA Chest Wall Pain Chronic Knee Dysplasia (5) Collapses Vertebrae Kienbock's Disease Knee Displasia (6) Kyphosis AKA Roundback (2) Lateral Epicondylitis AKA Tennis Elbow Mixed Connective Tissue Disease (MCTD) Muscle Spasms/Pain/Numbness, Undefined (7) Musculoskeletal Problems Neuralgia, Face, Feet, Hands, Legs (9) Osteoarthritis (22) Osteochondritis Osteopenia Osteoporosis (3)

Connective Tissue Disorder (2) Costochondritis Cramping (5) Crest Syndrome Debilitating Muscle Spasms (5) Degenerative Disc Disease (30) Degenerative Joint Syndrome

(4) Degenerative Ligament Tissue Paralysis Patellar Subluxation, Left Knee (3) (12) Joint Hypermobilty Syndrome
(4)
Degenerative Ligament Tissue
Paralysis
Patellar Subluxation, Left Knee
(3)
(12)
Joint Hypermobilty Syndrome
Polymyositisis
Pulmonary Fibrosis
Sjogren's Syndrome AKA Sicca
Syndrome (2)
Spinal Deterioration (4)
Spinal Disc Hernitaion AKA
Herniated Disc (4)
Spondyloloisthesis (7)
Spondylolysis (7)
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
AKA Lupus (3)
Tendinitis AKA Tendonitis (14)
Torticollis
(3)

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Neoplasms (54) Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Acute Myeloid Leukemia (2) Adrenal Gland Tumors AKA Cushing's Disease Anal Squamous Cell Carcinoma Basaloid Type Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma Appendicitis/Cancerous, Undefined Bone Cancer Brain Tumors Breast Cancer Cancer (6) Cardo Sarcoma Cervical Cancer Cervical Intraepithelial Neoplasia AKA Cervical Dysplasia

Endometrial Cancer Follicular Lymphoma Glioblastoma Hairy Cell Leukemia Hemangioma on my C-7 Vertebrae Histiocytosis Hodgkin's Lymphoma Large B Cell Lymphoma Lipomas-Non Cancerous Tumors Throughout Body (3) Lung Cancers and Hocm Lymphatic Tumors/ Lymphangioma Lymphoblastic Leukemia Lymphoma Melanoma (3) Myelodysplastic Syndrome

Nasal Cancer Ovarian Cancer Parathyroid Adenoma AKA Tumor on the Parathyoid Polycythemia Vera Polycythemia Vera with Genetic Factor Primitive Neuroectodermal Tumor (PNET) Rhabdomyosarcoma Skin Cancer Spinal Cord Tumors Throat Tumors (2) Thyroid Cancer-Hashimoto's Tumors (2) Tumors on Liver Uterine Leiomyosarcoma

Spinal Cord Tumors Throat Tumors (2) Thyroid Cancer-Hashimoto's Tumors (2) Tumors on Liver Uterine Leiomyosarcoma 27

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Diseases of the Nervous System and Sense Organs (297)

Absence Seizure AKA Petit Mal Seizures Amblyopia AKA Lazy Eye (12) Annual Decrease in Night Vision Bacterial Meningitis Bell's Palsy (4) Blindness Brain Calcification and Enlarged Penvascular Space Central Nervous System Disorder Cerebral Palsy Chronic Childhood Ear Infections (27) Chronic Inflammtory Demyalinating Polyneuropathy (CIDP) Complex Regional Pain Syndrome FKA Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy(CRPS/RSD) Crossed Eyes, Newborn Detached Retina Droop Eye, Ptosis Dysautonomia (2) Epilepsy (3) Eustacian Tube Dysfunction (2)

(25)

Arachnoid Cyst in Brain Space Arachnoiditis (2) Arnold Chiari Malformation (2) Exotropia Eye Floaters (10) Eye Problems, Undefined: Too much Spinal Fluid on my Brain Headaches (Chronic) (13) Hearing Loss, Deafness (11) High Myopia AKA Near sighted, AKA Short sighted Hydrocephaly (Brother Deceased) Hypoplasia: Entire Right Side Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension AKA Pseudotumor Cerebri (3) Intracranial Cyst AKA Arachnoid Cyst Juvenile Macular Degeneration Legally Blind (2) Mastoiditis (2) Meniere's Disease (2) Migraines: Basilar, Cluster, Hemiplegic, Hypnic (36) Migraines, Chronic (36)

Autonomic Nervous System Dysfunction

Migraines (13) Multiple Sclerosis (3) Muscular Dystrophy (2) Mysathenia Gravis Neuropathy Night Blindness (4) Otitis
Migraines (13)
Multiple Sclerosis (3)
Muscular Dystrophy (2)
Mysathenia Gravis
Neuropathy
Night Blindness (4)
Otitis AKA Ear Infections (6)
Otosclerosis
Peripheral Neuropathy AKA
Neuropathy (13)
Postural Ortostatic Tachycardia
Syndrome (POTS) (2)
Ptosis
Seizures
Sleep Apnea (21)
Spinal Meningitis
Spinocerebellar Ataxia
Spinocerebellum Degeneration
Thoracic Outlet Syndrome
Tinnitus, Lifelong (10)
Vasovagal Response or
Vasovagal Attack AKA
Neurocardiogenic Syncope

ILLNESSES SELF REPORTED BY MEMBERSHIP COVVHA (continued)

Diseases of the Respiratory System (138) Asthma (39) Bronchitis/Bronchial Spasms (4) Chronic Asthmatic Bronchitis (10) Chronic Cold (2) Chronic Influenza (2) Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) Chronic Pnuemonia (5) Chronic Sinusitis (25) Deviated Nasal Septum (5) Nasal Polyps Pnuemonia, Childhood/Recurring Pulmonary Edema Respiratory Infections/Distress (4) Sinusitis AKA Sinus Infections (34) Tonsillitis (4)

Diseases of the Skin and Subcutaneous Tissue (238) Acne Vulgaris AKA Cystic Acne, Undefined (42)
Diseases of the Skin and Subcutaneous Tissue (238)
Acne Vulgaris AKA Cystic Acne,
Undefined (42)
Adult Acne (37)
Alopecia AKA Hair Loss (2)
Alopecia Areata AKA Spot
Hisutism AKA Frazonism (6)
Hidradenitis Suppurativa
Missing A Whole Layer Of
Dermis
Mulitple Recurring
Undiagnosable Oozing Sores
Peeling As If Sunburned, Face/
Body (3)
Pityriasis
Photosensitivity AKA Light
Sensitivity, Severe (20)
Polymorphous Light Eruption
AKA Polymorphic Light Eruption
(PMLE) (1)
Baldness
Benign Cyst, Armpit (10)
Boils AKA Furuncles AKA
Carbuncles (4)
Cellulitis (3)
Psoriasis (2)
Psoriatic Arthritis
Psoriatic Rhumatoid Arthritis
Rash Under My Arm Same Place
My Dad Gets It (4)
Rash, Newborns
Rashes, Undefined (2)
Raynaud's Disease AKA
Raynaud's Phenomenon (5)
Rosacea (3)
Scleroderma
Sebacious Cysts AKA Lumps On
The Head (5)
Sebhorrheic Dermatitis
Chloracne
Cysts: Arm, Hand, Leg, Shoulder
Blade, Wrists (23)
Dermatitis (8)
Eczema (17)
Skin Lesions
Skin Problems/ Deformity
Skin Rashes (19)
Squamous Papilloma, Benign
Polyp in Mouth
Strange Growths
Trichilemmal Cyst AKA Pilar Cyst
Undiagnosed Rash On One Side
Of Body
Urticaria AKA Hives (4)
Vitiligo AKA Loss Of Skin
Pigment

Symptoms, Signs, and Ill-Defined Conditions (619) Achy Body (30) Anger Issues (13) Ataxia Balance Problems (3) Black Outs AKA Syncope Bladder Lift (2) Borderline Diabetic (7) Borderline High Blood Pressure (14) Breast Pain (6) Chemical Sensitivity (24) Chest/Breast Pain (21) Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (30) Chronic ENT Issues Results Leading to Adenoidectomy, Tonsillectomy and Ear Tubes (12) Cold Hands/ Feet (14) Dental Problems (11) Dizzy Spells (11) Ear Surgeries (6) Ear Tubes (6) Excessive Nosebleeds (3) Fasciculation AKA Twitches (5) Fever Seizures (5) Fever, Undefined Foot Issues, Burning (4) Gastritis (9) Gastrointestinal Problems (3) Heart Palpitations (30) Heart Problems/Surgery (2) Hepatomegaly ALA Enlarged Liver- Cause Unknown High ANA Levels In Blood Leads To Potential Lupus Diagnosis But After 4 Years Only Other Symptoms Is Raynaud's Phenomenon Hip Pain, Undefined (7) Hip Replacement Hip Surgery, Undefined Hormone Issues/Replacement (2) Hyperhidrosis AKA Excessive Sweating (3) Hypermobility Issues/Surgeries Hysterectomy (3) Immune System Issues and IVIG Infusions Infant/ Toddler Lethargy, Withdrawl Kidney Surgery Knee Problems/Pain/Surgery (7)

Lethargy Lhermitte's Sign SKA Barber Chair Phenomenon Loss Of Strenght In Limbs (2) Mood Swings (44) Neck Pain (28) Nerve Damage (17) Neurological Problems, Undefined Night Sweats (6) Orthostatic Intolerance Pain, Undefined (3) Parasthesis Partial Thyroidectomy (2) Pelvic Reconstruction Potassium Issues (2) Sensitive Skin (26) Sensitive Teeth (38) Sensitive to Medication (8) Snoring (30) Spinal Surgeries/Pain/ Undefined (3) Stress (9) Swelling, Undefined Thinning of Hair, Top/Front (6) Tired (19) Tremors (18) Unexplained Numbness (7) Unexplained Tingling Right Side Of Body (5) Vascular Headaches Vomiting (3) Weak Enamel In/On Teeth (16) Weak Muscles Left Leg (7) Weight Loss Whole Thyroidectomy Surgery (3)

Vomiting (3) Weak Enamel In/On Teeth (16) Weak Muscles Left Leg (7) Weight Loss Whole Thyroidectomy

Grandchildren of Vietnam Veterans (A.K.A. 3 rd generation) as of 12/12- COVVHA Member’s Children

Diseases Of The Blood And The Blood Forming Organs (3) Cystic Hygroma Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP) Sickle Cell Anemia

Overall Weak Immune System (3) Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) Type One Diabetes (2)

Diseases Of The Genitourinary System (5) UTI'S AKA Bladder Infections (5)

Diseases Of The Circulatory System (3) Varicocele (Prone to Varicocele/Hydracele) (3) Infections And Parasitic Diseases
Diseases Of The Circulatory System (3)
Varicocele (Prone to Varicocele/Hydracele) (3)
Infections And Parasitic Diseases (12)
Warts (12)
Complications Of Pregnancy, Childbirth, And The
Perperium (6)
Premature Births (6)
Injury And Poisoning (34)
Allergies (20)
Severe Seasonal Allergies (14)
Congentital Anomalies (28)
Anencephaly (2)
Beckwith–Wiedemann Syndrome
Cleft Palate (5)
Dual AV Node In Heart
Edwards Syndrome
Hypospadias
Keratosis Pilaris
Leg/Hip Problems At Birth (3)
Neural Tube Defects (2)
One Testicle Smaller Than The Other AKA
Cryptorchidism AKA Undescended Testicles (2)
Prune Belly Syndrome
Radial Dysphasia Of The Wrist AKA Radial
Dysplasia of the Wrist
Scoliosis
Spine is Blunt At The Bottom
Sticker Syndrome
Two Uteruses
Vacterl Syndrome AKA Vacterl Association
Ventricular Septal Defect (2)
Mental Disorders (99)
Anxiety Disorder (12)
Attention Deficit Disorder (9)
Aspergers- Autism Spectrum Disorder (11)
Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (8)
Bedwetting AKA Enueresis (9)
Borderline Personality Disorder
Depression (9)
Developmental Delay (5)
Dyslexia (2)
Aphasia (Fine/Gross Motor)
Insomnia (3)
Learning Disabilities, Non Specific (8)
Night Terrors (7)
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (5)
Social Anxiety Disorder
Speech Disorder, Articulation (7)
Tourette's Syndrome
Diseases Of The Digestive System (17)
Deformed Baby Teeth/ Gemini Tooth
Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD) (5)
Irritable Bowel Syndrome (3)
Hypodontia (Missing Teeth) (2)
Reflux (5)
Weak Baby Teeth
Diseases Of The Muskuloskeletal System And
Connective Tissue (7)
Fibromyalgia
Hyperflexablility In The Joints (6)
Neoplasms (2)
Hodgkins Lymphoma
Retinoblastoma

Endocrine, Nutritional, And Metabolic Diseases And Immunity Diseases (15) Autoimmune Problems Gluten Allergy Low Vitamin D Levels Obesity (6)

Diseases Of The Nervous Systems And Sense Organs (30) Amblyopia Apraxia Of Speech Auditory Processing Disorder (2) Chronic/Frequent Ear Infections (6) Hydrocephalus Lazy Eye (2) Migraines (6) Ruptured Ear Drums (2) Seizures Sensory Processing Disorder/ Dysfunction of Sensory Integration (6) Sleep Apnea (2)

Diseases Of The Skin And Subcutaneous Tissue (6) Cellulitis Eczema (4) Photosensitivity

Signs, Symptoms, And Ill-Defined Conditions (57) Abdominal Migraines (2) Abnormal Scar Tissue Growth Enlarged Tonsils (5) Failure To Thrive (5) Heart Murmur (3) Nose bleeds (5) Past Urinary Problems Peeling Finger/Toe Nails Poor Hand/Eye Coordination (4) Potty Training Problems (9) Severe Colic (3) Snoring (9) Weak Enamel In/On Teeth (7) Weird Skin Rashes (Doc Can't Figure Out What It Is) (3)

Diseases Of The Respiratory System (36) Asthma (22) Chronic Bronchitis (3) Enlarged Adenoids (2) Sinusitis
Diseases Of The Respiratory System (36)
Asthma (22)
Chronic Bronchitis (3)
Enlarged Adenoids (2)
Sinusitis (9)
Parent reporte d total number of illnesses in Grand children of VN Vets. 5 12
Parent reporte d total number of illnesses in
Grand children of VN Vets.
5 12
57
34
(12)
6
Injury And Poisoning (34 )
Mental Disorders (99)
36
99
30
Neoplasms
7
2
Diseases Of The Skin An d
Subcutaneous Tissue (6)
Diseases Of The Genitou rinary System (5) Infections And Parasitic Diseases Diseases Of The Muskul
Diseases Of The Genitou rinary
System (5)
Infections And Parasitic Diseases
Diseases Of The Muskul oskeletal
System And Connective Tissue (7)
Diseases Of The Nervou s Systems
And Sense Organs (30)
Diseases Of The Respira tory
System (36)
Signs, Symptoms, And Ill -Defined
Conditions (57)

This is total Parental (SELF) repor t and we have no idea how many grandchildren are represented in this section.

we are only passing on what we have observed. The

Grandchildren of Vietnam Vetera ns need further study.

We do not claim to be scientists

Bibliography

Albanese, Richard A., United States Air Force Personnel and Exposure to Herbicide Orange, Interim Report for Period March 1984 February 1988, United States Air Force: Brooks Air Force Base, TX, Feb.,

1988.

Erickson JD, Mulinarei J, McClain PW, et al. Vietnam veterans' risks for fathering babies with
Erickson JD, Mulinarei J, McClain PW, et al. Vietnam veterans' risks for fathering babies with birth
defects. JAMA1984;252:903-12.
Field B, Kerr C (1988) “Reproductive behavior and consistent patterns of abonormality in offspring of
Vietnam Veterans” J Med Genet, Vol 25,12.
Skinner, Michael K. (2012), Dioxin (TCDD) Induces epigenetic transgenerational inheritance of onset
disease and sperm epimutations. Plos.one, Vol 7,9
Thank you for your time and consideration
Presentation prepared by,
Heather A Bowser, COVVHA, National Coordinator
Karen Wengert,, Vice President COVVHA
Tanya Mack, Core Chairperson COVVHA
Kelly Derricks, President COVVHA
Presentation given by:
Tanya Mack: COVVHA Core Chairperson
Jenna Van Leer: COVVHA Core Group Member
(COVVHA) Children of Vietnam Veterans Health Alliance, INC
980 Wheeler Way
P.O. Box 1204
Langhorne, PA 19047
Phone: 1-570-468-4035
COVVHA@Gmail.com
Www. COVVHA.net