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Introduction
I. Product Research
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III. Grow Customers and Sales
17. Retargeting
V. Instagram Marketing
Conclusion
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Introduction
Dropshipping model has become popular in the last half of the decade, thanks to its
lower running costs than the traditional business model. However, dropshipping is not
as simple as many of you might think, and could not bring success without a good
plan. In fact, 90% of dropshipping businesses fail within the first month. It’s
intimidating, isn’t it?
Thus, this guide comprises 19 strategies that we find the most effective when it
comes to dropshipping with AliExpress, being used by thousands of 6-figure
businesses (including us, of course). It features tools and practical steps that any
dropshippers can follow and get the result within a short period of time. In each of the
sections, we will also introduce examples of successful dropshipping businesses for
demonstration purposes.
Below is the revenue dashboard of a dropshipping store in the last 30 days we
ourselves have been running.
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Chapter 1 banners
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For any business models, including dropshipping, products are the
foundation that determines their overall business structure and growth
strategy.
In other words, everything you do should be based on which product(s) you sell. So,
the first mission begins with this question: “what product to sell to potentially yield the
highest return?”
The term “product” is actually too broad to begin with, so intuitively browsing the
product without a direction might make you go through lots of trial and error, taking
away your two most valuable assets - time and money, as of a result.
Thus, this section serves as a starting guide to your product search, giving you a
comprehensive picture of where to start and what to look for.
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1. Come up with product ideas
For whatever you do, you should do it with all your heart. Any long-lasting success will
require persisting dedication. How can you be so devoted to something that you do
not even like?
That mentality applies to the business world as well. It’s always hard to market a
product that you hate or have no knowledge of. Thus, on the white paper, you can start
writing down about four to five categories that you have most interest. For example:
● Technology
● Fashion
● Kids
● Gardening
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Key product criteria
Now you have some of your favorite categories on the paper (hopefully, your
customers will like them too), let’s cross out any of those that violates these the
following primary product criteria:
● Avoid things that require upfront quality control such as food, medicine, or
skincare. This is because, in the dropshipping model, it’s difficult to verify the
quality of the items before they are shipped to the customers, so you’d better stay
away from anything that potentially risks your customers’ health directly from the
consumption if you do not want to be involved in the costly lawsuit.
● Do not always choose the best-sellers. It is a common mistake that lots of
people make as they believe that a best-seller will quickly bring them profits due to
its high demand. The thing is, a best-seller means (1) it has a high competition
that might harm your profit margin, (2) its high sales volume means it has reached
the maturity stage in the product life cycle, so the next thing would be the
decline.
● Choose the products with good images. A high-quality image can instantly
catch customers’ attention and build trust at the same time. Using the right images
possibly makes your customers believe your products are worth their money, even
though they cannot touch or see those items in person.
● Choose items that have low selling price. When it comes to dropshipping,
impulse purchase is the major shopping behavior, meaning customers are not
likely to buy something if they have to wonder about the price.
For this product search particularly, we will start with other websites to screen out
the most potential “candidates”, before we look them up on AliExpress.
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As mentioned above, a best-seller does not necessarily come with a higher profit.
Since running a dropshipping business does not require you to hold the inventory, it is
easier to rotate what you are selling, meaning you can always catch up with the trend.
Trending items allow room for growth and rising popularity for a certain period of time,
thus if you are quick enough, you can take advantage of the trend before it reaches its
maturity.
There are a few different websites that you can take a look at what items are trending:
Wish
If you start off your dropshipping business on a tight budget, Wish should be your first
destination of this journey because here you can find millions of items at huge
discounts. Just type “trending” in the Search bar on the Wish homepage. Then,
trending items will be shown with images, the original price, the discount in percent,
etc.
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You will also see the number of people who bought it. Needless to say, the higher, the
better. As there are so many of them, to save your time and help you not to get lost,
press Command + F for MacOS (Ctrl + F for Windows) > Type in “10000+” or
“20000+” > Enter. The highlighted part will indicate the products that match your
search. Give them more of your attention.
Tip: You should only pay attention to anything that has more than 10,000 purchases
with lots of positive reviews.
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Then repeat the step above and only click on anything that has more than 10,000
purchases. After conducting the search on Wish, we finally wrote down our top 5
products:
● Bluetooth headphones
● Waterproof watch
● Computer bag
● Men wallet
● Woven bracelets
Now it is time to head over to AliExpress to sort out which one is the winner.
After figuring out the top 5 trending products on Wish, pick one and type the keyword
on the search bar of AliExpress. For example:
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As you can see, the search query “waterproof watch” has the highest number of
565,020 results, meaning this item is very popular and many people are buying it.
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Sorting the search results by Best Match shows a pretty positive result of 4.8 star and
3173 orders. But the fun does not end here. Waterproof watch only guides us on what
to search on AliExpress, it is our job to find the most potential item in the “watch”
category. Our next step is to sort the result by Orders and Rating:
It is not a problem if the results do not match our initial keyword because our goal is to
find the winning dropshipping product. You can see that SOXY LED Digital Watch is
currently our number 1 option, with 4.6-star rank and 11,750 orders. Also, it is sold by
an AliExpress’s top-rated brand, as indicated by this symbol:
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You should also choose a product that provides ePacket, which is the fastest yet
affordable shipping method in the market. No one wants to order something from your
store if they have to wait months to receive the items. For example, this SOZY LED
Digital Watch offers ePacket at only $1.58 shipping cost, along with the tracking
information.
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Tip: Do not forget to check the promotion part if you are about to order them in a
bulk.
Next thing to consider is the product’s description and images. In this case, if you
continue to scroll down the product’s page, you can see that the manufacturer
provides a detailed and comprehensive description, along with the high-quality images,
for which you can use to make your product more attractive to buy.
Since the customers cannot touch and try the product in person, a detailed product
description along with good images is the only way to get your product sold.
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3. Steal the winning products from
your competitors
It is always a good idea to learn from your competitors to see which items
are sold well. We will use the “Watch” category as an example for this
search.
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Then, click on any of the found stores to see what products they are selling. Since one
store can sell many products, our advice to you is to discover which products are their
top sellers. This will allow you to save time looking for winning products because these
items are already proven to succeed by your competitors.
Tip: If all the prices are under $100, chances are these products are dropshipping
ones.
You can verify whether a product is from AliExpress or not by right-clicking on the
product’s image to search its images on Google. If the search engine results page
shows any AliExpress links, it’s a dropshipping item. On this AliExpress page, pay
much attention to the price, number of orders, and reviews. If you find any product
potential, you can import it into your store.
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4. Find hot products on social media
With more than 2 billion users as of 2018, Facebook is a great place to start observing
how “hot” your product is. By that, we mean you should zero in on the number of
views, likes, comments, reactions, and shares. The higher the engagement is, the
better.
Now you have an idea of how to find the winning dropshipping products, please keep
in mind that there is no method out there guaranteeing a 100% success rate. The
results depend on many other factors, such as your store layout, website optimization,
and marketing.
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Some cautions when choosing the suppliers on
AliExpress
A top-rated brand is not always the best choice. Hence, you have to make a lot of tests
and check the information carefully before going with any brand.
Let’s back to the previous example - SOXY LED Digital Watch, you can see that it is
sold from one of AliExpress’ Top Brands, which indicates high-quality items and
features reliable service.
Take a look at the product details - SOXY watch has the manufacturer’s information
under its product’s description:
As you can see, the communication and shipping speed factors are ranked below
average. This is not essentially bad…
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For instance, as depicted in the picture above, this particular top-rated brand’s
communication and shipping speed are ranked below average. These numbers are not
essentially bad because this supplier still has a pretty high percentage of positive
feedback. To be sure, you would want to order some product samples in advance to
see how accurate the estimated shipping time is and what the product looks like in
reality.
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Chapter 2 banner
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5. Choose the best themes
Before we start working on the most amazing themes for dropshipping businesses,
take a look at the features that a top-notch dropshipping theme should provide.
● Easy to install: A good theme for dropshipping should be able to get installed in
a few minutes without the hassle and difficulties.
● High degree of customization: Before you download or buy a theme for your
dropshipping website, double check to make sure that it provides a high degree
of customization. Things like custom plugins or pre-built add-ons make the
themes more powerful, easy to tailor, and cost-saving in the long run.
● Overall theme speed: How many times have you visited a slow loading website
and stayed there? We bet the answer would be zero or at most once. Needless
to say, maintaining a fast page load speed is crucial not only to increase
conversion rates but also to improve your ranking on search engines. In fact,
many dropshippers consider this criterion the first priority.
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● Aesthetically appealing design: A well-designed and classy store will help to
build trust and increase conversion rates as well. Thus, choose a theme that
looks professional and matches the vibe of your online store as well as your
product niche.
Now let’s jump into the best themes that successful dropshipper businesses usually go
with.
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Shopify
There is no doubt that Brooklyn is one of the most popular themes on Shopify. The
theme is 100% free, relatively light, mobile-friendly and highly customizable. Brooklyn
has become the favorite theme not only for merchants who just start out but also for
many experienced dropshippers across the world.
Folsom & Co has built a 6-figure dropshipping business with Brooklyn theme
However, the disadvantage is that the theme lacks many essential features for sales
optimization such as product recommendations or announcement bars. You can get
such features by installing apps or plugins, but this might be costly and sometimes
increase the loading time as well.
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b. Booster - From $179
Thanks to a wide range of pre-built features, minimalist design, and fast load speed,
Booster theme has become a perfect choice for merchants who are looking for a
template for their dropshipping websites.
Fact: We have witnessed many general dropshipping stores make a killing with
Booster theme only.
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c. Shoptimized - From $169
Another option for dropshippers on Shopify to get the ball rolling: Shoptimized. This
theme provides a wide range of pre-built features, from stock countdowns, trust
badges, custom sales notifications to fake social proofs.
We used gtmetrix to analyze the load speed of a random product page of
thatgooddeal.com (using Shoptimized theme) and the result was quite great: 5.1s for
the pages to be fully loaded.
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Costing up to $350 for a single license, there is no denying that Turbo is one of the
most expensive Shopify themes in the market at the moment.
However, according to many dropshippers' opinions, it’s totally worth the price. The
theme was built by Out of the sandbox - one of the most credible theme providers in
the eCommerce industry. Coming with stunning looks, a high degree of customization
and a wide range of custom features, Turbo is obviously a good option for
dropshipping businesses to build their empire.
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WooCommerce
a. Flatsome - $59
If you work long enough on WooCommerce, you probably experience at least once a
website which is built with Flatsome. In fact, this theme is one of the easiest-to-use
themes for dropshipping businesses in particular and Woocommerce websites in
general.
Are you not excel at coding skills? No problem, you are still able to get the most out of
Flatsome.
The theme comes with a revolutionary drag and drop responsive page builder so that
you can create any catchy layouts without writing a single line of code. Besides,
Flatsome provides a Live customizer to help you easily customize the theme in the way
you want.
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Shopkeepers - $69
The name speaks for itself, Shopkeepers is one of the most famous WooCommerce
templates offering sleek designs and advanced themes options. Besides, Shopkeepers
also comes with a drag and drop page builder, reliable customer support and regular
updates.
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6. Build trust with reviews and recent
sales notifications
Needless to say, building trust for websites has been considered the #1
priority for any dropshipping businesses.
Why is that?
It’s because most of the dropshipping products are made by strange brand names in
China, which makes customers feel insecure and skeptical when buying such things.
So how can dropshippers deal with this?
Research showed “85.57% of the participants stated that they read reviews often or
very often before they purchase online.” That’s why showcasing product reviews is
always a never-get-old tactic to reassure customers about your product quality and
convince them to make purchases.
If you are selling dropshipping products from AliExpress, gaining more reviews for your
products is a breeze because you can take advantage of millions of reviews left by
other shoppers on AliExpress.
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You can either manually copy these reviews to your store, or use a review app like
Loox to import them into your product pages.
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Another great way to make customers feel confident to buy is letting them know that
many other shoppers are trusting and buying from you.
Below is an example of how Myth of Eastern builds trust by showcasing their recent
orders as the sales pop-ups on the left corner of the store. These sales notifications
are generated based on their real sales data and have been updated every day with the
help of Boost Convert app.
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7. Create urgency and scarcity to
boost conversion rates
Nearly 97% of people who visit an online store won’t buy in the first time!
The reason is simple: shoppers just want to look around. There is no reason for them
to have to buy something right away. They might think: “Oh, this product is cool, I will
consider buying it and will be back to get it later”. The “later” then becomes a “never”
after all and your conversion rate sucks.
That’s why motivating shoppers to make an instant buying decision on their first visit is
crucial if you want to make great money. Creating a sense of urgency and scarcity will
help to push them over the edge, urge them to purchase immediately if they don’t want
to miss out on the products or discounts.
One of the most popular hacks that successful dropshipping entrepreneurs usually go
with is adding a countdown timer and a stock countdown on their product pages.
These widgets will show when the sales will end and how many product units there are
in stock, sending a gentle nudge to customers: “My products are on deep discount
and selling like hot cakes. You may have no second chance to get one if you don’t buy
it right now!”
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By triggering this human inner psychology, you can manage to motivate impulse
buying and improve your conversion rates.
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Another trick to bring urgency to dropshipping websites is to offer customers a
time-limited discount. This kind of discount can encourage customers to check out
immediately in order to get the deal.
Below is an example from Animeprinted. They have been offering 15% off for buyers
whose cart value is more than $30. By implementing this tactic with the help of
Checkout Boost, the store managed to urge shoppers to check out right away and
make an extra $12k in revenue.
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8. Facilitate order tracking
One of the challenges that cause a headache to dropshippers is to find a fast yet
affordable shipping method. However, even with ePacket - the most favorite shipping
method of most of dropshippers, the shipping time might still take months.
In fact, many merchants confessed that 85% of their customers’ questions are
related to delivery status of their orders. As the businesses grow, this problem can
become a real nightmare, costing the store owners a lot of money and time to resolve.
In this situation, how can six-figure dropshipping businesses survive and scale up? The
answer is they use tools that allow their customers to keep track of the orders by
themselves.
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The first solution is to let customers track orders’ delivery status right on the
thank-you/order page with Reconvert app. Whenever customers click on the link in the
order confirmation emails (what they received after placing the orders), they can
immediately see the order tracking number as well as its delivery status.
Allow customers to track their order status themselves on the thank-you pages
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Another way to empower customers to keep updated on their orders is to create a
tracking page where they can place their tracking number to check the delivery status.
This is also a good way to build more trust for your dropshipping store because visitors
can see you are transparent about the shipment.
Ring to Perfection created a page for customers to track their orders with Aftership
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9. Never overlook small things
We have witnessed a bunch of dropshipping stores that don’t pay much attention to
their additional pages such as About us, Return Policy, Terms of Service, etc. This
could be a huge mistake what is crushing their conversion rates.
A clear pattern you might see on all of the successful dropshipping stores we listed
above, or even on other giant eCommerce sites (Amazon, eBay): they always have the
well-designed About us, Contact us, Return Policy, Terms of Service, and FAQs pages.
This small yet simple tactic has been playing an important role in improving their
conversion rates and boosting their sales.
That totally makes sense. Who would buy from a website without knowing how long
the shipping time will take or how they can return defective items?
In addition, the stores which do not have such pages may be at risk of getting banned
by some payment gateway providers for eCommerce.
That said, the additional pages we mentioned above should never be neglected.
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If you are using Shopify, they already pre-made some templates of these page for you.
By going to Shopify Dashboard >> Setting >> Legal, you can seamlessly create
content for these pages.
Tip: You can also copy content of the additional pages from other competitors and
tweak them with your own terms and policies.
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Banner Chapter 3
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10. Acquire and convert potential
customers with email marketing
“The Money is in the List.”
If you are involved with online marketing long enough, chances are you have heard this
proverb at least once. According to Campaign Monitor, email marketing drives $44 for
every $1 spent (~4400% in ROI). Therefore, email marketing is a strategy that should
never be overlooked if you want to build a profitable business.
So what are the most profitable dropshipping businesses doing to leverage email
marketing to make a killing? Let’s find out:
As you might know, one of the great ways to build up an email list is offering a small
incentive such as a discount code or free shipping in exchange for one customer’
email. This strategy is now being taken to an advanced level through using
eCommerce gamification.
Instead of handing out a coupon right on the storefront, Project Yourself, a Shopify
Plus business, chooses to make this process more fun and interactive: Customers can
spin a lucky wheel to win many big deals (up to 70% off!) after entering their email
addresses to join.
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You can gamify your email subscription as what Project Yourself is doing with a tool like
Sitekit.
After acquiring a number of emails, now it’s time to learn how the most successful
dropshipping entrepreneurs turn them into your customers and make more sales.
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Turn email subscribers to customers
Since dropshippers are usually busy doing product research and managing advertising
campaigns, they tend to cut corners by sending bulk emails to all customers. This, in
the short term, may help to save time, but in the long-run could seriously harm their
email conversion rates and damage the brand reputation.
So how can the most profitable dropshipping businesses deliver targeted email
content but still stay productive? The answer is relying on email automation.
While there is a wide range of tools to build an email marketing automation machine for
a dropshipping business out there, we highly recommend you try Mailbot. This app has
been helping thousands of dropshippers to fully automate all of their email campaigns
from automatically sending product recommendations, weekly re-engaging stale
customers to recovering abandoned carts.
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11. Leverage upselling and
cross-selling
For those of you who have no idea what upselling and cross-selling are: they both are
currently the most effective tactics to increase average order value (AOV), accounting
for an average of 10-30% of eCommerce revenue.
While upselling is simply the act of offering customers a better option (more expensive
item), cross-selling is recommending them to buy more complementary items.
Source: Livechatinc
For example, if you intend to buy an iPhone 6 16Gb, the store salesperson might
suggest you buy another iPhone 6 64Gb instead (upselling) or purchase more portable
chargers, cables or headphones (cross-selling).
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Use Product Bundling
The most common way to increase AOV you might have seen is to bundle up products
and sell them in combos. For instance, when a shopper views a computer, he/she will
also see an option of buying a bundle of the computer and a mouse. By doing this,
merchants will not only have more chances to increase their order value but also help
customers to save time finding other items they might also need.
The giant Amazon has been making millions of dollars with product bundling
If you are looking for a solution to apply upselling and cross-selling for your
dropshipping business, you can give our Boost Upsell a try. This tool empowers you to
either manually create your own product bundles or automatically generate product
combos based on your historical data and customer behaviors.
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Incentivize Wholesales
However, with the stores that only sell a few, or even only one product, how can they
do upselling and cross-selling? Here is the solution: encouraging shoppers to buy
more than one product unit in order to get a discount. The more units customers
purchase, the higher the discount tier they will get.
Wanna try this strategy for your dropshipping business? You can get a tool like
Discounted Pricing to add this feature to your site.
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Showcase Product Recommendations
You might have heard this before, but we’d like to reiterate: 35% of Amazon’s revenue
came from its product recommendation engine. In addition, according to Monetate
research, product recommendations can increase conversion rates in eCommerce by
70%.
Nowadays, it’s extremely difficult to find a successful eCommerce business that does
not have any product recommendation sections on their site. That said, product
recommendation has been considered a must when it comes to racking up online
sales.
Below is an example of Lukalula showcasing “Who bought this also bought” and “You
might also like” recommendations at the bottom of every product page. This helps
motivate their store visitors to have a look at other products, thus increasing the
chance of them finding their favorite ones and making purchases.
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Getting product recommendations for your dropshipping website has never been
easier with the help of tools like Personalized Recommendation. Backed with the latest
big data technology and artificial intelligence, Personalized Recommendation will
analyze your customer’s interests and behaviors, showing them the most suitable
products that they might be interested in.
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12. Reduce cart and checkout
abandonment
With a 4x higher open rate and an 8x higher click-through rate in comparison with
other traditional marketing channels, Facebook Messenger is undoubtedly an
untapped potential for any dropshipping websites to engage with their customers.
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Utilize time-limited discounts and email automation
Another useful tip for reducing cart abandonment rates preferred by millionaire
dropshippers is to offer discounts. Every time a customer takes a specific action on a
store such as adding something to cart or reaching a cart threshold, he/she will receive
a discount that encourages him/her to complete the order instantly.
By offering 10% off to customers whose cart value is higher than $30 on the cart page,
AnimePrinted managed to 7x their conversion rate and boost their sales by 45%.
Next, do you remember the power of email automation that we previously mentioned in
this eBook? Yes, you get the point!
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Email marketing can be of importance when it comes to fighting cart abandonment.
Never forget to have an automated email tool in hand when building your dropshipping
website.
Tip: According to the latest reports, sending a sequence of 3 abandoned cart emails
can boost the number of orders by 68.9% compared to sending only one email.
The first one should be sent 1 hour after customers leave their cart, re-emphasizing the
benefit of your products. Another can be sent after 1 day, creating urgency and
scarcity for the products and the last one is after 3 days to offer a coupon/discount
code.
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13. Automate Order Fulfillment
Oberlo has long turned up #1 on the list of top dropshipping apps on Shopify app
store. However, as your dropshipping business grows with hundreds of orders, the
manual fulfillment process with Oberlo might become extremely time-consuming.
That’s indeed a pain in the neck for those who really want to scale their dropshipping
business.
Fortunately, dropshippers now can totally automate their order fulfillment with tools like
Dropship Connector. Built with all of the current features of Oberlo, Dropship
Connector also allows merchants to fulfill hundreds of orders on AliExpress within one
click.
Needless to say, this is a life-saver for dropshippers who are finding ways to automate
their dropshipping business.
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14. Improve customer retention
You might have heard it time again and again. That’s much easier and less expensive
to get an existing customer to make a purchase than acquiring a brand new one.
Customer retention helps not only increase the number of repeat customers but also
boost the profitability of each existing customer.
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Offer a discount or credit to return
Offering discounts to existing customers is a great way to motivate them to come back
and buy again from your brand. According to Market Wired, once a customer comes
back for a second purchase, they have a 54% chance of doing so again. Therefore,
giving customers a discount after their purchase can do wonders for your retention
rates in the long term.
As you can see in the example above, Myth of Eastern re-engages with their loyal
customers and offer a 20% off discount for them to prepare their Valentines gifts. If
you use our Mailbot, the app will help automatically send coupon codes to your loyal
customers without you having to lift a finger.
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However, the disadvantage of re-engaging with shoppers via emails is that more than
two-thirds of them won’t open your emails and use the discounts (according to
Mailchimp, the average open rate in eCommerce is only 15.66%).
Here comes another better solution: Let customers know the discount right after they
place an order, for example showing them the code right on the thank-you pages. By
doing this, you can be 100% sure that your customers will be aware of your special
treat and then redeem it on their next order.
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Improve customer support
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Banner Chapter 4
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In order to build a successful dropshipping business, there is no doubt that Facebook
Ads is absolutely a must. Nowadays there are tons of Facebook Ads guides out there
teaching dropshippers to run a profitable ad, but it’s evident that there is no
one-size-fits-all formula that works for all dropshipping businesses.
We have tested and tried tons of new ways of running Facebook Ads, and now will be
sharing with you which ones actually work and help us to build our own six-figure
dropshipping businesses.
Note: We will only share with you advanced tips and tricks because we assume that
you are already familiar with the basic Facebook Ads. If you are new to this
advertising platform, refer to this Facebook Ads definite guide first.
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15. A/B Testing formula that works
After importing several products into your store, you now have to create some ads to
find out which one is your profitable product. Here are a few things you should
remember when it comes to testing products.
Create a number of $5/day adsets (Website Conversion - Purchase) with a number of
different interests and behaviors to test. You can come up with many useful customers’
interests and behaviors for your ad targeting by going to Ad Manager >> Audience
Insights
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Pro tip: We usually get better results with adsets that target people being Engaged
Shoppers. You can find this in the behaviors field when setting up Facebook adsets.
It doesn’t really matter if your adset budget to test is $5, $10 or $50/day, the higher it
is, the sooner you get the test results. You might wonder “how do I know which is a
profitable adset”? It depends on your breakeven Return on Ad spend (ROAS).
Breakeven ROAS = Product Sale Price / (Product sale price - Product cost)
For example, if an item is sold at $100, and the product cost is $40, its breakeven
ROAS = 100/(100-40) = 1.67
Now go to Facebook Ads Manager > Columns > select Purchase ROAS to show
this metric. If the ROAS of an adset is below your breakeven, kill it. If it is above, keep it
and scale up. You will find out how we actually scale up our profitable Facebook ads in
the next part.
The ad format that works best for us all the time is video ads. We usually create our
video content by going to Fiverr, searching for keywords such as “product video” or
“product demo”, choose some people who are suitable for being models and then
send them our products so they can shoot a short video for us.
Remember to choose a relatively fast shipping method so that the models can quickly
get the sample items.
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Bluecrate has succeeded in running Facebook Ads with their own videos
Note: It might be much easier if you get the product videos from your suppliers or
other competitors. However, the videos that are created on your own usually bring
better results as well as helping you avoid copyright infringement.
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16. Scale up without destroying
Return on Ad Spend (ROAS)
When we find a profitable product, it’s time to sell it to as many people as possible and
make big money. However, you might know that scaling up doesn’t just mean you
raise the budget and then money flood in.
Firstly, with a profitable 5$/day adset, we duplicate the adset in order not to affect its
performance and wait in 2-3 days. If the new adset is still making a profit, do it over
again and again. If it’s still profitable, try increase the budget and test the product with
other interests or lookalike-purchased audience.
When the adset reaches $400/day, try using manual bid. Manually bid 2-3 times the
cost per purchase (CPP) suggested by Facebook and then carefully keep an eye on it.
If the adset is exhausting its budget too quickly, lower the bidding price and vice versa.
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17. Retargeting
96% of customers won’t buy on their first visit. That’s why remarketing is crucial when
it comes to selling anything online.
According to our data, retargeting campaigns always have the best ROAS
rate compared to all other types of Facebook Ads campaigns.
Here are some of our best practices when running retargeting Facebook Ads:
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● People who watched 75% of videos
● People added to cart in 7 days but did not initiate checkouts
● People initialed checkouts but did not complete their orders
Ad format: Dynamic ads works well for Facebook retargeting because it showcases
exact products that customers viewed and were interested in when they were on your
store. Refer to this tutorial if you don’t know how to set up Facebook Dynamic Ads.
Content: Add a discount code into your content, let’s say 15% off, to motivate
customers to come back.
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Banner Chapter 5
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With almost 1 billion active users per month as of June 2018, Instagram proves itself as
a second vigorous platform after Facebook to build awareness, recruit followers, and
boost sales for all the businesses.
In fact, statistics also show that the brand engagement rates on Instagram are 10x
higher than that on Facebook, meaning people pay attention to the ads and proceed
with some sorts of activities. Plus, as more than 60% of users discover new products
through Instagram, introducing your products on Instagram is likely to be successful.
In this ebook, you will learn about the two major advertising tactics that 99%
of successful dropshipping businesses often implement to drive sales:
Instagram Influencers and Instagram Ad.
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18. Instagram Influencers
From the statistic above, there is no surprise that 92% of marketers choose Instagram
as the most powerful platform for influencer advertising. Now, let’s look at some useful
tips to make a sales-driving advertising campaign on this platform.
Having millions of followers does not necessarily mean a good thing. Macro-influencers
have too much of the exposure to massive body of general audiences, thus they tend
not to focus on a niche market and unlikely to reply to people’s messages.
Besides, the cost of getting macro or mega influencers featured your products can be
incredibly expensive, and definitely not a good idea if you plan to minimize the costs.
In contrast, 84% of micro-influencers charge less than $250 for a branded Instagram
post. Even though they have fewer followers, their page features significantly higher
engagement. Their Instagram page focuses on specific areas of interests, thus have
quite a niche body of followers.
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For example, Sam Bella - the owner of the travel crush page, defines herself as a
traveler so she has a niche here. If you are selling something that is related to travel,
you can contact her for a promotion purpose.
@thetravelcrush
Another reason to choose micro-influencers like Bella is that she spends time replying
to people’s comments, so it is easier for her to build trust, gain credibility, and educate
audiences about your product if needed. Doing so can reduce the bias when it comes
to sponsored products as her thoughtful reviews can help them understand more
about your product’s usage as well as its pros and cons.
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@thetravelcrush
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Where to find micro-influencers?
The easiest method to find them on social media. Start typing something like “travel”
and you will see the volume of posts for each hashtag:
Be careful when you opt for a hashtag that has the highest volume of posts, because it
takes lots of time to screen out the influencers whose styles, and interests, closely
align with your brand. Ideally, hashtags that have an average of 21-24 characters
appear likely to be more successful, as they usually target the niche market.
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If you have already known some influencers, you can expand the search by first
looking at the hashtags they commonly use. Other bloggers who are similar to them
might use those hashtags.
@thetravelcrush
Or you can click on the drop-down button to see some suggested Instagram pages:
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Influencer Marketing Ideas
We only give you the ideas which are the best matches for a dropshipping
model.
Sponsored Post
This is certainly the most typical marketing idea out of them all. For the fact that it
works, in terms of increasing brand awareness, building trust, and ultimately driving
sales, many businesses have invested seriously into this advertising idea. There are
two ways you can do it:
(1) Quick introduction: Simply send them some samples and give them a brief
overview of your brand and the product itself, then ask the influencer to write a
short post with a link to your site and include a hashtag that you wish to use.
Appolowear sponsored a post on Instagram page of @menslaw
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(2) In-depth review: Still send them a sample but this time, you ask them to use
the product for a certain amount of time, then carefully write a longer-than-usual
post to review the product. The content should be somewhat neutral as you do
not want the audience to feel the post is biased. By that, we mean it can have
the majority of information to be positive, while still mixed with a little bit of
drawback.
Giveaways
We all know what it is - another very popular marketing idea in which you sponsor the
content and give some products to the influencers. Their jobs are to write a post about
the products, describe the conditions of the giveaways, and include some hashtags for
references.
Usually, consumers who enter the giveaways and want to win, have to perform some
specific activities requested by the influencer, such as following your page and liking
the post.
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19. Instagram Ads
It can be unlikely for a French person to click an ad that is written in English, especially
when the product on the ad is not a widely known product, like a pair of Nike shoes.
Thus, if you are aiming for those countries whose language is not English, we highly
recommend you create your ad in different languages accordingly.
Doing so not only helps catch customers’ attention more easily but also makes them
feel like they are not seeing just random, spammy ads on social media, which in turn
increases the chance for higher click rate.
One of the outstanding examples is Ross Madden whose sales increased by almost
42% in just a month, simply by changing the language on the ad and target it to
different countries.
According to Ross who was successful with his dropshipping business selling charcoal
beauty products, advertising on Instagram is brilliant because an ad appears “in
between Stories. It covered the entire screen. All I had to do was to swipe up if I
wanted to buy it.”
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Isn’t it one of the most convenient ways to boost sales? Your job is to tailor the ad to
match the preferences of your target market. With 400 millions watching Instagram
stories every day, this is for sure one of the most robust advertising platforms.
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Conclusion
If you read the guide till now, congrats! You now already know the best-performing
strategies, from product research, conversion optimization to marketing, that most of
the six-figure dropshipping businesses out there implement for their own websites. Try
applying them yourself right now to take your dropshipping businesses to the next
level.
Since each business model varies from one to another, performing careful research
and testing to see which strategy fits yours is highly recommended.
If you have any questions or feedback on this ebook, don’t hesitate to shoot us an
email to support@boostflow.com. We are always here for you.
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